Deepgram review

by Deepgram, Inc.Speech-to-text APIs

A speech-to-text API with Nova-3 batch transcription from $0.0043 a minute, speaker labels included on pre-recorded audio, and $200 of credit with no card.

Facts checked
  • Free trial
  • No card needed
  • Self-serve
  • Usage-based
  • Public prices
Visit site

What you're paying for

  • Worth the price (main value)
  • Saves engineering time

Speaker-labelled transcripts of pre-recorded audio at $0.0043 a minute with nothing extra to add, plus regional endpoints and a self-hosting path for later.

On pay-as-you-go, Nova-3 Monolingual transcribes pre-recorded audio for $0.0043 a minute with speaker diarization, smart formatting and word timestamps included, billed per second. The $200 sign-up credit needs no card and covers about 775 hours of that workload. Teams that must keep audio in a region can use EU, Australia or India endpoints with the same keys, and Enterprise adds self-hosted containers for a VPC or on-prem GPUs.

  • Diarization included on pre-recorded audioThe pricing table lists speaker diarization as "Included" for pre-recorded audio on pay-as-you-go and Growth, so the batch rate is the whole price for diarized transcripts; streaming diarization is $0.0020 a minute.Evidence: Pricing page (2026-10-16)
  • A $200 credit without a cardNew accounts get $200 of credit with no card; the pricing page says it has no expiration, and the FAQ puts it at over 700 hours of Nova transcription.Evidence: Pricing page and FAQ (2026-10-16)
  • Regional endpoints and self-hostingEU, Australia and India endpoints use existing API keys. Enterprise customers can run self-hosted containers in their own VPC or on-prem, and the docs describe an Amazon SageMaker route billed through AWS.Evidence: Your Data docs, self-hosted docs and changelog (2026-10-16)
Best for
Developers transcribing large volumes of pre-recorded audio who want speaker labels in the base rate and room to test on free credit.
Good to know
Audio and transcripts are used to improve Deepgram's models unless each request sets mip_opt_out=true, and the HIPAA BAA is on Enterprise only.

How Deepgram compares

Against 3 other products we reviewed in Speech-to-text APIs: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.

Deepgram compared with AssemblyAI, Speechmatics, Google Cloud Speech-to-Text
MetricDeepgramAssemblyAISpeechmaticsGoogle Cloud Speech-to-Text
What you're paying forWorth the priceSpeaker-labelled transcripts of pre-recorded audio at $0.0043 a minute with nothing extra to add, plus regional endpoints and a self-hosting path for later.Compliance includedA transcription API whose BAA, training opt-out and retention controls are self-serve on paid accounts, with diarized batch audio from $0.17 an hour.Compliance includedTranscription in 55+ languages where your audio stays out of model training unless you opt in, with EU, US and Australian processing for every account.Built-in reachSpeech recognition inside your Google Cloud account, with IAM, audit logs, a BAA and EU processing, and dynamic batch at $0.003 a minute.
Overall score6.68.4Best8.17.8
Free optionFree trialFree trialFree trialFree plan
Card to startNo card neededNo card neededNo card neededCard required
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$0.0043/min$0.15/hr$0.24/hr$0.003/min
Pricing modelUsage-basedUsage-basedUsage-basedUsage-based
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic pricesPublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitPer second of audio; multichannel billed per channelPer second of pre-recorded audio; streaming by session time, idle included; multichannel per channelPer second, from credits at hourly rates; credit price falls with packs and subscriptionsPer second of audio, no minimum; each channel billed
Free credit$200 at sign-up, no card$50 at sign-up, no card, does not expire$100 at sign-up, no card, valid 12 months60 minutes a month on the V1 API; none on V2
Streaming rateNova-3 Monolingual $0.0077/min regular; $0.0048/min limited-time promotionalUniversal-Streaming $0.15/h; Universal-3.6 Pro Realtime $0.45/hMelia 1 $0.40/h; Standard $0.45/h; Enhanced $0.80/h (list)$0.016/min ($0.96/h), the same as batch
DiarizationIncluded on pre-recorded audio; streaming +$0.0020/minBatch +$0.02/h; streaming +$0.12/h (beta in the docs)Included; real-time speaker labels on Enhanced, Standard and Linden, not Melia 1No separate price; Chirp 3 diarization in batch only
Languages45+ (pricing page)99 on Universal-2; 18 on Universal-3.5 Pro55+ (pricing page); 56 for Melia 1Over 125 (product page)
Training on your audioBy default; opt out per request (mip_opt_out=true)By default; paid accounts opt out online, free accounts cannotOnly if you opt in (33% off)Not without your permission; V1 data logging opt-in gives a lower rate
HIPAA BAAEnterprise, through salesSigned online at no cost on paid plansSub-BAA through the Trust Center; plan and process not statedCovered; accepted in the console per the docs
EU processingEU endpoint with existing keys, no plan limit stated; also Australia and IndiaEU endpoint for batch and streaming, same price as USEU, US and Australia regions for all customersChirp 3 GA in the eu multi-region
Self-hostedEnterprise containers; Amazon SageMaker route with an AWS accountStreaming only, $20,000 upfront commitmentOn-prem containers, virtual appliance and on-device on EnterpriseSpeech-to-Text On-Prem on GKE, through sales
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type II (report on request); ISO 27001 not statedSOC 2 Type 2; ISO 27001:2022SOC 2 Type II (Trust Center, under NDA); ISO/IEC 27001:2022SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 (Compliance Reports Manager)
Console SSONot documentedSAML/OIDC add-on, $199/month per connectionSAML/OIDC on Enterprise, $280/month add-onSAML through Cloud Identity Free, no listed cost
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Deepgram pairs low batch rates, diarization included, with a $200 credit and self-hosting. Model improvement is on unless each request opts out, the BAA is Enterprise only, and streaming runs on promotional rates.From its public pages, AssemblyAI combines the lowest 500-hour price here with compliance controls you switch on yourself: a BAA, a training opt-out and retention as short as an hour. A few add-on prices differ between its pages.From its public pages, Speechmatics has the strictest privacy defaults of the five: no training unless you opt in, 7-day batch retention and real-time audio not stored. Its pricing page leads with discounted rates, and redaction, SSO and on-prem are Enterprise features.From its public pages, Google Cloud Speech-to-Text suits teams inside Google Cloud: no training without permission, a BAA, EU processing and dynamic batch at $0.003 a minute. Features need checking per model, and there is no PII redaction.

Evidence: Deepgram: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; AssemblyAI: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Speechmatics: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Google Cloud Speech-to-Text: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Score

Score breakdown
Pricing clarity
4.0 / 10, Fair
batch rate published; streaming rate published; bought online; some rates labelled promotional or limited-time; Nova-3 Medical has no price on the pricing page; Growth discount given as "up to 20%" in the plan header and "about 12.5%" in the FAQ; FAQ quotes the promotional $0.29/h streaming rate as the pay-as-you-go price; whether streaming is billed on audio sent or on connection time is not stated; pricing page says credits have "No expiration"; the Terms end credits when the account closes or a subscription is cancelled
Free credit
10.0 / 10, Excellent
$200 credit ≈ 775.2 hours at $0.258/h; no card needed; does not expire; all features
Price for 500 hours
6.8 / 10, Good
$129/mo: Nova-3 Monolingual, pre-recorded at $0.258/h × 500 hours; $0.0043/min pay-as-you-go; diarization included on pre-recorded audio; no published volume tiers
Transcription features
7.9 / 10, Good
streaming included; streaming diarization paid add-on; custom vocabulary paid add-on; PII redaction paid add-on; language detection included; multichannel included; 45 batch languages ("45+ languages" on the pricing page; the docs list more entries without a total)
Data use and retention
4.5 / 10, Fair
used for training unless you opt out; no delete API stated; retention stated; DPA not self-serve; requests join the Model Improvement Program by default; mip_opt_out=true per request gives zero retention; no delete endpoint stated; DPAs entered into with customers on request
Compliance and deployment
6.5 / 10, Good
own SOC 2 Type II, no ISO 27001 stated, HIPAA BAA through sales, EU region self-serve, self-hosted option, SAML SSO not stated, BAA and container self-hosting on Enterprise; EU endpoint works with existing API keys

Review

Review from public pages

Written from Deepgram's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.

What the public pages show

We read Deepgram's pricing page and its FAQ, the Terms of Service, the privacy policy, the data security page, and the developer docs on models and languages, diarization, redaction, keyterm prompting, multichannel, rate limits, self-hosting, data residency and the Model Improvement Program, plus the changelog, on Oct 16, 2026; we did not sign up or call the API for this review. The pricing page loaded in US dollars from our location.

The rate tables are detailed: per-minute prices for pay-as-you-go and Growth, model by model, for pre-recorded and streaming audio, with add-ons such as keyterm prompting and redaction priced the same way. Streaming rates are marked "Limited-time promotional rates on streaming" with no end date, so our tables use the regular rates; the FAQ quotes the promotional $0.29 an hour as the pay-as-you-go streaming price.

A few points need a question to Deepgram. The Growth discount is "up to 20%" in the plan header and "about 12.5%" in the FAQ. The pricing page says credits have no expiration, while the Terms end them when the account closes or a subscription is cancelled. Nova-3 Medical has no listed price, and the docs do not say whether streaming is billed on audio sent or on connection time.

Strengths

  • Speaker labels included in the batch rate

    $0.0043 a minute ($0.26 an hour) for Nova-3 Monolingual pre-recorded audio, with diarization included; our 500-hour scenario costs $129 a month (computed).

    vs Amazon Transcribe: AssemblyAI adds $0.02 an hour for batch diarization and still comes to $85; Amazon Transcribe includes it at $0.006 a minute ($180 for the same scenario).

  • The largest sign-up credit here

    $200 of credit with no card, which the pricing page says has no expiration; at the scenario rate that is about 775 hours.

    vs Amazon Transcribe: AssemblyAI gives $50 and Speechmatics $100; Google Cloud and Amazon Transcribe offer 60 free minutes a month.

  • Regional endpoints with existing keys

    EU, Australia and India endpoints work with existing API keys, with no plan limit stated; the docs say a full in-region guarantee needs the regional endpoint plus mip_opt_out=true.

  • Self-hosted options

    Enterprise customers can run Deepgram in containers in their own VPC or on on-prem NVIDIA GPUs; the docs also describe an Amazon SageMaker deployment that needs only an AWS account.

    vs Amazon Transcribe: AssemblyAI self-hosts streaming only, with a $20,000 commitment; Amazon Transcribe has no self-hosted option.

Things to know

  • Model improvement is on by default

    The Terms let Deepgram use your content to train its models, and requests join the Model Improvement Program unless each one sets mip_opt_out=true; opted-out requests get zero retention.

    Workaround: Since March 5, 2026, opting out has no effect on listed prices on pay-as-you-go and Growth.

  • BAA and DPA through sales

    The HIPAA BAA is for Enterprise customers, and the privacy policy says DPAs are entered into with customers; we found no DPA that applies with the terms. ISO 27001 and console SSO are not stated.

    Workaround: The SOC 2 Type II report is available from [email protected] or your account executive.

  • Streaming prices are promotional

    Streaming rates are labelled limited-time promotional with no end date; the regular Nova-3 Monolingual streaming rate is $0.0077 a minute against $0.0048 promotional.

    Workaround: Budget on the regular rates shown in the same table.

  • Add-ons for streaming speaker labels and redaction

    Streaming diarization and redaction are $0.0020 a minute each and keyterm prompting $0.0013; entity redaction is English only, and multichannel audio is billed per channel.

Pricing reality

Deepgram bills each second of audio from prepaid credit. For our scenario, 500 hours of pre-recorded English with diarization and word timestamps on Nova-3 Monolingual cost 30,000 × $0.0043 = $129 a month (computed) before tax, since diarization is included on pre-recorded audio. Keyterm prompting adds $0.0013 a minute and redaction $0.0020 ($39 and $60 a month at that volume, computed). Streaming costs more than batch: $0.0077 a minute regular for Nova-3 Monolingual, plus $0.0020 for diarization. Growth prepays $4,000 or more a year for up to 20% off, with overage at the Growth rate plus 10%; larger volume discounts are on Enterprise.

Exit path

Transcripts come back as JSON, with SRT and WebVTT through the SDK caption helpers. The request-history API lists past requests but not their audio or transcripts, so keep your own copies. The FAQ offers refunds for credits bought in the last 30 days; the Terms otherwise say unused credits are not refunded. Growth renews yearly unless cancelled at least a day before the term ends.

Compared with

  • Pick Deepgram when
    You want the largest free credit, diarization included in the batch rate, or a self-hosted option beyond streaming.
    Pick AssemblyAI when
    You want a BAA signed online, a DPA with the terms, ISO 27001, a delete API and a lower 500-hour cost ($85 a month on Universal-2, computed).
  • Pick Deepgram when
    You want EU, Australia and India endpoints with one key and a $200 credit the pricing page says has no expiration.
    Pick Speechmatics when
    You want customer audio left out of training by default, batch files deleted after 7 days and streaming diarization included on Enhanced and Standard.
  • Pick Deepgram when
    You want a lower batch price ($129 against $180 a month for 500 hours, computed) and a self-hosted option.
    Pick Amazon Transcribe when
    You already run on AWS and want the BAA accepted in AWS Artifact and console SSO through IAM Identity Center.

Choose it if

  • You transcribe a lot of pre-recorded audio and want speaker labels in the base rate.
  • You want to test at scale on free credit without a card.
  • You may need to self-host the models later.

Look elsewhere if

  • You need a HIPAA BAA or a signed DPA without an Enterprise contract.
  • You want customer audio left out of model training without a per-request flag.

Bottom line

From its public pages, Deepgram pairs low batch rates, diarization included, with a $200 credit and self-hosting. Model improvement is on unless each request opts out, the BAA is Enterprise only, and streaming runs on promotional rates.

Plan limits at a glance

LimitAs recorded
Billing unitPer second of audio; multichannel billed per channel
Free credit$200 at sign-up, no card
Streaming rateNova-3 Monolingual $0.0077/min regular; $0.0048/min limited-time promotional
DiarizationIncluded on pre-recorded audio; streaming +$0.0020/min
Languages45+ (pricing page)
Training on your audioBy default; opt out per request (mip_opt_out=true)
RetentionKept for model improvement by default; zero retention with the opt-out
HIPAA BAAEnterprise, through sales
EU processingEU endpoint with existing keys, no plan limit stated; also Australia and India
Self-hostedEnterprise containers; Amazon SageMaker route with an AWS account
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type II (report on request); ISO 27001 not stated
Console SSONot documented

Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check

Deepgram lists 6 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Nova-3 Monolingual, pre-recorded (pay-as-you-go), costs $0.0043/min.

  • DeepgramFree
    Free credit
    $0/mo
    $200 one-time credit, no card; prepaid pay-as-you-go after that
    • All features
    • Auto-load or a credit purchase once the credit is used (Terms)
  • Deepgram
    Nova-3 Monolingual, pre-recorded
    $0.0043/min
    $0.26/h; Growth $0.0036/min; billed per second
    • Speaker diarization and smart formatting included
    • Word timestamps and confidence
    • Keyterm prompting +$0.0013/min
    • Redaction +$0.0020/min
  • Deepgram
    Nova-3 Monolingual, streaming
    $0.0077/min
    Regular rate; limited-time promotional $0.0048/min; Growth $0.0065 (promotional $0.0042)
    • WebSocket API
    • Streaming diarization +$0.0020/min
    • Flux English $0.0077/min regular, $0.0065 promotional
  • Deepgram
    Nova-3 Multilingual, pre-recorded
    $0.0052/min
    Streaming $0.0092/min regular, $0.0058 promotional
    • Code-switching with language=multi
    • Diarization included on pre-recorded audio
  • Deepgram
    Growth
    $4,000+/yr
    Prepaid annual credits; up to 20% off listed rates
    • Higher streaming concurrency in North America
    • Overage at the Growth rate plus 10%
  • Deepgram
    Enterprise
    Contact sales
    • HIPAA BAA
    • Self-hosted containers (NVIDIA GPUs)
    • Custom model training
    • Volume discounts and custom concurrency

Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-16.

Source: deepgram.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.

Visit site