A speech-to-text API priced per audio hour, from $0.15 for Universal-2 batch or Universal-Streaming, with $50 of free credit and a self-serve BAA on paid accounts.
A transcription API whose BAA, training opt-out and retention controls are self-serve on paid accounts, with diarized batch audio from $0.17 an hour.
Paid accounts can sign a HIPAA BAA online at no cost, opt out of model training, and set how long audio and transcripts are kept, down to one hour, without a sales contract. The DPA applies with the terms, and the EU region costs the same as the US. Universal-2 transcribes 99 languages in batch for $0.15 an hour plus $0.02 for speaker labels, and add-ons such as PII redaction and keyterm prompting have per-hour prices.
BAA online at no costThe BAA FAQ says paid customers can review and sign the standard BAA from the Data Controls page at no additional cost; signing it stops training use and sets a 72-hour default retention.Evidence: BAA FAQ and Data Controls docs (2026-10-16)
Retention you set yourselfPaid plans can set a TTL as low as one hour; by default uploads are deleted within 24–48 hours and transcripts from 30 days, and DELETE /v2/transcript removes one sooner.Evidence: Data retention and Data Controls docs (2026-10-16)
Low batch rate for diarized audioUniversal-2 is $0.15 an hour with batch diarization at $0.02, so our 500-hour scenario costs $85 a month (computed); Universal-3.5 Pro is $0.21 an hour.Evidence: Pricing page (2026-10-16)
EU processing at the US priceThe EU batch endpoint keeps data in the European Union, streaming has an EU data zone, and pricing.md says the EU region is the same price as the US.Evidence: Region docs and pricing.md (2026-10-16)
Best for
Teams handling health, call-center or other personal audio that need a BAA and retention controls without an enterprise contract.
Good to know
Free accounts cannot opt out of training, set retention or sign a BAA; these start once you add a card and pay as you go.
How AssemblyAI compares
Against 3 other products we reviewed in Speech-to-text APIs: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.
AssemblyAI compared with Speechmatics, Google Cloud Speech-to-Text, Amazon Transcribe
Compliance includedA transcription API whose BAA, training opt-out and retention controls are self-serve on paid accounts, with diarized batch audio from $0.17 an hour.
Compliance includedTranscription in 55+ languages where your audio stays out of model training unless you opt in, with EU, US and Australian processing for every account.
Built-in reachSpeech recognition inside your Google Cloud account, with IAM, audit logs, a BAA and EU processing, and dynamic batch at $0.003 a minute.
Built-in reachTranscription inside your AWS account at $0.006 a minute for batch, with speaker labels, custom vocabulary and language identification in the rate.
Overall score
8.4Best
8.1
7.8
7.0
Free option
Free trial
Free trial
Free plan
Free trial
Card to start
No card needed
No card needed
Card required
–Not measured
Getting access
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan
$0.15/hr
$0.24/hr
$0.003/min
$0.006/min
Pricing model
Usage-based
Usage-based
Usage-based
Usage-based
Pricing page
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Billing unit
Per second of pre-recorded audio; streaming by session time, idle included; multichannel per channel
Per second, from credits at hourly rates; credit price falls with packs and subscriptions
Per second of audio, no minimum; each channel billed
Per second, no minimum; two channels at no extra charge
Free credit
$50 at sign-up, no card, does not expire
$100 at sign-up, no card, valid 12 months
60 minutes a month on the V1 API; none on V2
60 minutes a month for 12 months
Streaming rate
Universal-Streaming $0.15/h; Universal-3.6 Pro Realtime $0.45/h
Melia 1 $0.40/h; Standard $0.45/h; Enhanced $0.80/h (list)
$0.016/min ($0.96/h), the same as batch
$0.01/min ($0.60/h)
Diarization
Batch +$0.02/h; streaming +$0.12/h (beta in the docs)
Included; real-time speaker labels on Enhanced, Standard and Linden, not Melia 1
No separate price; Chirp 3 diarization in batch only
Included in batch and streaming, up to 30 speakers
Languages
99 on Universal-2; 18 on Universal-3.5 Pro
55+ (pricing page); 56 for Melia 1
Over 125 (product page)
About 90 languages across 113 language rows (our count)
Training on your audio
By default; paid accounts opt out online, free accounts cannot
Only if you opt in (33% off)
Not without your permission; V1 data logging opt-in gives a lower rate
By default; opt out with an AWS Organizations policy
HIPAA BAA
Signed online at no cost on paid plans
Sub-BAA through the Trust Center; plan and process not stated
Covered; accepted in the console per the docs
Accepted in AWS Artifact
EU processing
EU endpoint for batch and streaming, same price as US
EU, US and Australia regions for all customers
Chirp 3 GA in the eu multi-region
Six EU regions for batch, four for streaming
Self-hosted
Streaming only, $20,000 upfront commitment
On-prem containers, virtual appliance and on-device on Enterprise
Speech-to-Text On-Prem on GKE, through sales
Not offered
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
SOC 2 Type 2; ISO 27001:2022
SOC 2 Type II (Trust Center, under NDA); ISO/IEC 27001:2022
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 (Compliance Reports Manager)
SOC 1, 2 and 3 and ISO 27001 (AWS Artifact)
Console SSO
SAML/OIDC add-on, $199/month per connection
SAML/OIDC on Enterprise, $280/month add-on
SAML through Cloud Identity Free, no listed cost
IAM Identity Center, no extra charge
Bottom line
From its public pages, AssemblyAI combines the lowest 500-hour price here with compliance controls you switch on yourself: a BAA, a training opt-out and retention as short as an hour. A few add-on prices differ between its pages.
From its public pages, Speechmatics has the strictest privacy defaults of the five: no training unless you opt in, 7-day batch retention and real-time audio not stored. Its pricing page leads with discounted rates, and redaction, SSO and on-prem are Enterprise features.
From its public pages, Google Cloud Speech-to-Text suits teams inside Google Cloud: no training without permission, a BAA, EU processing and dynamic batch at $0.003 a minute. Features need checking per model, and there is no PII redaction.
From its public pages, Amazon Transcribe is the simple choice inside AWS: flat per-minute rates with the main features included and self-serve compliance paperwork. Voice inputs are used to improve the service unless your organization opts out.
Evidence: AssemblyAI: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Speechmatics: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Google Cloud Speech-to-Text: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Amazon Transcribe: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
batch rate published; streaming rate published; bought online; FAQ puts the $50 credit at up to 185 batch hours; $50 at $0.21/h is about 238; billing described as a monthly invoice in the pricing FAQ and as a prepaid balance in the billing docs; Universal-2 keyterm prompting "Included" on the pricing page and +$0.05/h in pricing.md; Sync API at $0.30/h on the pricing page and $0.45/h in the Jul 14, 2026 changelog; summarization at $0.02/h (low effort) on the pricing page and +$0.03/h in pricing.md
Free credit
9.7 / 10, Excellent
$50 credit ≈ 294.1 hours at $0.17/h; no card needed; does not expire; batch, streaming and other speech APIs, not LLM Gateway
Price for 500 hours
8.2 / 10, Excellent
$85/mo: Universal-2, pre-recorded at ($0.15/h + $0.02/h diarization) × 500 hours; list rate per audio hour; standard batch diarization is a +$0.02/h add-on; no published volume tiers
used for training unless you opt out; delete API or no storage by default; retention stated; DPA with the terms; opt-out and retention TTL on paid plans, not the free tier; uploads deleted within 24–48 hours, transcripts from 30 days; DELETE /v2/transcript
Compliance and deployment
10.0 / 10, Excellent
own SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, HIPAA BAA online, EU region self-serve, self-hosted option, SAML SSO on a published plan or add-on, BAA signed online on paid plans at no cost; SSO $199/month per connection; self-hosted streaming needs a $20,000 commitment
Review
Review from public pages
Written from AssemblyAI's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.
What the public pages show
We read AssemblyAI's pricing page and the pricing.md and models.md files it links from the footer, the billing, rate-limit, data retention, Data Controls, region, SSO, account management and self-hosting docs, the docs FAQ, the security page, the Terms of Service, the DPA and the BAA, and the changelog on Oct 16, 2026; we did not sign up or call the API for this review. The trust center did not render without JavaScript, so certifications come from the security page and the docs.
Pricing is per audio hour, model by model, with every add-on listed at its own hourly rate, and the billing docs explain the units well: pre-recorded audio to the second, streaming by how long the WebSocket stays open, idle time included, and each channel billed separately.
Several pages disagree on details. The pricing page lists Universal-2 keyterm prompting as included while pricing.md lists +$0.05 an hour; the Sync API is $0.30 an hour on the pricing page and $0.45 in the changelog; the FAQ says the $50 credit covers up to 185 batch hours; and a docs FAQ says SAML SSO is not supported, while the SSO page offers it at $199 a month.
Strengths
Compliance controls without a contract
Paid accounts sign the BAA online, opt out of training and set retention in Data Controls; the DPA applies automatically with the terms.
vs Deepgram: Deepgram's BAA is for Enterprise customers, and its DPAs are entered into on request.
The lowest scenario cost here
Universal-2 batch at $0.15 an hour plus $0.02 for diarization puts 500 hours at $85 a month (computed).
vs Speechmatics: Speechmatics Melia 1 comes to $120 and Deepgram Nova-3 to $129 for the same scenario.
Broad certification list
The security page lists a SOC 2 Type 2 report in the trust center, and the docs state ISO 27001:2022 and PCI DSS v4.0.
vs Deepgram: Deepgram does not state ISO 27001.
Every add-on priced per hour
Diarization, keyterm prompting, PII redaction, Medical Mode, translation and the Speech Understanding models each have an hourly price, so a feature set can be costed from the page.
Things to know
Training use by default
The Terms let AssemblyAI use customer data to train its models; paid accounts can opt out, forward-looking only, and free accounts cannot.
Workaround: Per the data retention docs, files are not used for training under a BAA, on the EU servers, or after an opt-out.
Streaming is billed by session time
Streaming bills the time the WebSocket stays open, idle time included, and an unclosed session runs to the 3-hour cap; add-ons such as diarization apply to the whole session.
Workaround: Close each session when the audio ends, as the billing docs advise.
Pages disagree on some prices
Universal-2 keyterm prompting, the Sync API and summarization each have different prices on the pricing page and in pricing.md or the changelog.
Workaround: Confirm the rates for the add-ons you need with AssemblyAI.
Model coverage differs
The newer Universal-3.5 Pro lists 18 batch languages; the 99-language model is Universal-2. Streaming diarization is still described as beta in the docs.
Pricing reality
AssemblyAI draws usage from a prepaid balance, pre-recorded audio to the second and streaming by session time. For our scenario, 500 hours of pre-recorded English with diarization and word timestamps on Universal-2 cost 500 × ($0.15 + $0.02) = $85 a month (computed) before tax; on Universal-3.5 Pro it would be $115. PII redaction adds $0.08 an hour ($40 a month at that volume, computed) and Medical Mode $0.15. Streaming starts at $0.15 an hour on Universal-Streaming plus $0.12 for diarization, with idle session time billed. Volume pricing is through sales, and SAML SSO is $199 a month per connection. Paid fees are not refundable under the Terms.
Exit path
Transcripts are available as JSON and as SRT or VTT captions at no charge. GET /v2/transcript lists transcripts from the last 30 days only, and transcripts are deleted on the retention schedule, so export what you need to keep. Account deletion is permanent, and the free credit does not expire.
You want PII redaction, a $50 credit with no card and every add-on priced per hour.
Pick Google Cloud Speech-to-Text when
You already use Google Cloud and want its IAM, audit logs and BAA under your existing account.
Choose it if
You need a HIPAA BAA, a training opt-out and retention controls without a sales contract.
You want the lowest batch price for diarized audio among these five.
You want EU processing at the US price.
Look elsewhere if
You need self-hosted batch transcription.
You want to opt out of model training on the free tier.
Bottom line
From its public pages, AssemblyAI combines the lowest 500-hour price here with compliance controls you switch on yourself: a BAA, a training opt-out and retention as short as an hour. A few add-on prices differ between its pages.
Plan limits at a glance
Limit
As recorded
Billing unit
Per second of pre-recorded audio; streaming by session time, idle included; multichannel per channel
Free credit
$50 at sign-up, no card, does not expire
Streaming rate
Universal-Streaming $0.15/h; Universal-3.6 Pro Realtime $0.45/h
Diarization
Batch +$0.02/h; streaming +$0.12/h (beta in the docs)
Languages
99 on Universal-2; 18 on Universal-3.5 Pro
Training on your audio
By default; paid accounts opt out online, free accounts cannot
HIPAA BAA
Signed online at no cost on paid plans
EU processing
EU endpoint for batch and streaming, same price as US
Self-hosted
Streaming only, $20,000 upfront commitment
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
SOC 2 Type 2; ISO 27001:2022
Console SSO
SAML/OIDC add-on, $199/month per connection
Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check
We have not published a sign-up run for AssemblyAI yet. The access facts above were read from its sign-up and pricing pages on Oct 16, 2026.
We have not published API calls for AssemblyAI yet.
We read the pricing, docs, data-usage, trust and legal pages of three transcription APIs on the same day and scored them on the same six indicators. What 500 hours of diarized batch audio cost, how each handles your audio, where the BAA sits, and who should pick which.