Speech-to-text APIs · Comparison

Deepgram vs Speechmatics

2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.

Side by side

Deepgram vs Speechmatics: value, access facts, plan limits and bottom lines
MetricDeepgramSpeechmatics
What you're paying forWorth the priceSpeaker-labelled transcripts of pre-recorded audio at $0.0043 a minute with nothing extra to add, plus regional endpoints and a self-hosting path for later.Compliance includedTranscription in 55+ languages where your audio stays out of model training unless you opt in, with EU, US and Australian processing for every account.
Overall score6.68.1Best
Free optionFree trialFree trial
Card to startNo card neededNo card needed
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$0.0043/min$0.24/hr
Pricing modelUsage-basedUsage-based
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitPer second of audio; multichannel billed per channelPer second, from credits at hourly rates; credit price falls with packs and subscriptions
Free credit$200 at sign-up, no card$100 at sign-up, no card, valid 12 months
Streaming rateNova-3 Monolingual $0.0077/min regular; $0.0048/min limited-time promotionalMelia 1 $0.40/h; Standard $0.45/h; Enhanced $0.80/h (list)
DiarizationIncluded on pre-recorded audio; streaming +$0.0020/minIncluded; real-time speaker labels on Enhanced, Standard and Linden, not Melia 1
Languages45+ (pricing page)55+ (pricing page); 56 for Melia 1
Training on your audioBy default; opt out per request (mip_opt_out=true)Only if you opt in (33% off)
RetentionKept for model improvement by default; zero retention with the opt-outBatch files 7 days, delete sooner by API; real-time audio not stored
HIPAA BAAEnterprise, through salesSub-BAA through the Trust Center; plan and process not stated
EU processingEU endpoint with existing keys, no plan limit stated; also Australia and IndiaEU, US and Australia regions for all customers
Self-hostedEnterprise containers; Amazon SageMaker route with an AWS accountOn-prem containers, virtual appliance and on-device on Enterprise
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type II (report on request); ISO 27001 not statedSOC 2 Type II (Trust Center, under NDA); ISO/IEC 27001:2022
Console SSONot documentedSAML/OIDC on Enterprise, $280/month add-on
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Deepgram pairs low batch rates, diarization included, with a $200 credit and self-hosting. Model improvement is on unless each request opts out, the BAA is Enterprise only, and streaming runs on promotional rates.From its public pages, Speechmatics has the strictest privacy defaults of the five: no training unless you opt in, 7-day batch retention and real-time audio not stored. Its pricing page leads with discounted rates, and redaction, SSO and on-prem are Enterprise features.

Evidence: Deepgram: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Speechmatics: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

When to pick each

In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.

  • From our Deepgram review

    Checked Oct 16, 2026
    Pick Deepgram when
    You want EU, Australia and India endpoints with one key and a $200 credit the pricing page says has no expiration.
    Pick Speechmatics when
    You want customer audio left out of training by default, batch files deleted after 7 days and streaming diarization included on Enhanced and Standard.
  • From our Speechmatics review

    Checked Oct 16, 2026
    Pick Speechmatics when
    You want training off by default, processor terms in the Terms of Service and a stated 7-day retention.
    Pick Deepgram when
    You want a larger credit that the pricing page says has no expiration, and self-hosting through Amazon SageMaker.

Entry price

Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.

  • Deepgram
    Nova-3 Monolingual, pre-recorded
    $0.0043/min
    $0.26/h; Growth $0.0036/min; billed per second
    • Speaker diarization and smart formatting included
    • Word timestamps and confidence
    • Keyterm prompting +$0.0013/min
    • Redaction +$0.0020/min
  • Speechmatics
    Pro: Melia 1, pre-recorded
    $0.24/hr
    Pay-as-you-go list rate; $0.16 with the model-training opt-in
    • Speaker diarization included
    • 56 languages, code-switching
    • Word timestamps included

Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Deepgram 2026-10-16, Speechmatics 2026-10-16.

Which one fits

If you need to start today without a sales call
SpeechmaticsSelf-serve sign-up, no card needed; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (8.1/10).
If you want to try it without entering a card
SpeechmaticsFree trial, no card needed, and the highest score of the 2 that skip the card (8.1/10).
Highest overall score
Speechmatics8.1/10 (Excellent). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.

Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score

Full reviews

More in Speech-to-text APIs

Add a product

Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.