Crunchy Bridge review
by Crunchy Data (Snowflake)Managed Postgres
Managed Postgres on AWS, Azure or Google Cloud at one price per cluster size plus storage, with 10 days of point-in-time recovery and data transfer included.
- Paid only
- Card required
- Self-serve
- Usage-based
- Public prices
What you're paying for
- Saves engineering time (main value)
- Worth the price
Managed Postgres on AWS, Azure or Google Cloud at one price per cluster, with 10 days of point-in-time recovery and data transfer included.
Crunchy Bridge prices each Postgres cluster by its size plus $0.10 per GB of storage, and the pricing page says backups and data transfer are in that price. Every cluster keeps 10 days of base backups and WAL, and you can fork a new cluster from any minute in that window, for recovery or for a staging copy with real data. Clusters run on AWS, Azure or Google Cloud, with EU regions on each.
- Recovery on every planDaily base backups and continuous WAL are kept 10 days at no extra charge, and a fork restores any minute in that window to a new cluster.Evidence: Backups and point-in-time recovery docs (2026-10-15)
- One price per clusterA cluster price plus storage, with backups and data transfer included; Hobby-1 (1 GB) is $18 a month in AWS us-east-1.Evidence: Pricing page and plans docs (2026-10-15)
- Three cloudsClusters run in AWS, Azure and Google Cloud regions, including Frankfurt, Ireland and Paris on AWS.Evidence: Plans and pricing docs (2026-10-15)
- Best for
- Teams that want Postgres with recovery included and a cluster-based bill, on the cloud they already use.
- Good to know
- Plans below $70 a month are Hobby, which the docs say is not intended for production, and dashboard SSO is OpenID Connect rather than SAML.
How Crunchy Bridge compares
Against 3 other products we reviewed in Managed Postgres: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.
| Metric | Crunchy Bridge | Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL | PlanetScale | Neon |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| What you're paying for | Saves engineering timeManaged Postgres on AWS, Azure or Google Cloud at one price per cluster, with 10 days of point-in-time recovery and data transfer included. | Compliance includedManaged Postgres in your own AWS account from $0.016 an hour, with point-in-time restore up to 35 days and a self-serve HIPAA BAA. | Worth the priceProduction Postgres at a fixed monthly price per cluster, from $10 for 1 GiB, with SOC 2 Type 2 reports and BAAs on the self-serve plan. | Worth the pricePostgres you pay for by the compute hour, with scale to zero, branches that start with your data, and a free plan of 100 projects. |
| Overall score | 5.9 | 6.9Best | 6.7 | 6.5 |
| Free option | Paid only | Free trial | Paid only | Free plan |
| Card to start | Card required | –Not measured | –Not measured | No card needed |
| Getting access | Self-serve | Self-serve | Self-serve | Self-serve |
| Starter priceCheapest paid plan | $9/mo | $0.016/hour | $5/mo | $0.106/CU-hour |
| Pricing model | Usage-based | Usage-based | Usage-based | Usage-based |
| Pricing page | Public prices | Public prices | Public prices | Public prices |
| Billing units | Cluster size per month (prorated), storage (GB) | Instance hours, storage (GB-month), backup storage above the free amount, CPU credits | Cluster size per month, storage above 10 GB, backups above 2× disk | Compute-unit hours, storage and restore history (GB-month) |
| Free plan | None; Hobby-0 from $9/mo plus storage | None; AWS Free Tier credits for new accounts | None; single node from $5/mo | 1 GB per project, 100 projects, 100 CU-hours each; no card |
| 10 GB app with staging, per month | $22.17 on Hobby, computed | $19.10 on db.t4g.micro, computed | $15 on Base, computed | $28.06 on Launch, computed |
| Point-in-time recovery | Any minute in the last 10 days, every plan | Up to 35 days, no add-on; extra backup storage $0.095/GB-month | 2 days by default; longer with custom backup schedules | Up to 7 days on Launch at $0.20/GB-month; 30 on Scale |
| Automatic backups at no extra charge | Daily base backups plus WAL, kept 10 days | 7 days by default (console); free up to provisioned storage | Every 12 hours, kept 2 days | None; history and snapshots billed per GB |
| SOC 2 Type II report | On request from Crunchy Data; no plan limit stated | AWS reports in AWS Artifact, any account | Base plan (ISO 27001 not stated) | Scale plan |
| HIPAA BAA | On request; no plan limit stated | Self-serve in AWS Artifact | Base plan, on request | Scale plan, self-serve |
| EU regions | Frankfurt, Ireland, Paris, Stockholm, Milan (AWS); also Azure and GCP | Frankfurt, Ireland, Paris, Stockholm, Milan, Spain | Frankfurt, Dublin (AWS); Belgium, Netherlands (GCP) | Frankfurt, London |
| SAML SSO for the dashboard | Not supported; Google, Microsoft or OpenID Connect SSO | IAM Identity Center, no extra charge | $199/mo add-on on Base | Not listed |
| Branch with production data | Yes, a fork from any point in the last 10 days | Yes, by restoring a snapshot or point in time to a new instance | Yes, by restoring a backup to a branch | Yes, every branch starts as a copy |
| Bottom line | From its public pages, Crunchy Bridge includes 10 days of recovery on every plan and keeps the bill to a cluster price plus storage. Its lowest-priced plans are Hobby, which the docs say is not for production, and dashboard SSO is OpenID Connect rather than SAML. | From its public pages, RDS for PostgreSQL includes the most recovery and compliance here at a low listed price, all self-serve. The bill has more lines to estimate than the others, and there is no permanent free plan. | From its public pages, PlanetScale lists the lowest price for our scenario and the most compliance on its entry plan, with backups and PITR included. There is no free plan, and its Postgres branches are separate databases rather than copies. | From its public pages, Neon has the most generous free plan and the most flexible branches here, and usage billing suits databases that are often idle. Compliance and longer restore windows move you to Scale, at about twice the compute rate. |
Evidence: Crunchy Bridge: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; PlanetScale: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Neon: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
Score
- Pricing clarity
- 8.0 / 10, Excellent
- billed by cluster size (monthly, prorated), storage (GB); the scenario needs no usage estimate beyond its own sizes; billing granularity is stated as hourly increments, by the minute and prorated to the second on different pages; Memory-512 is $7,680 on the pricing page and $7,640 in the docs
- Free tier
- 0.0 / 10, Fair
- no free plan
- Price for a 10 GB app with staging
- 7.3 / 10, Good
- $22.17/mo: AWS us-east-1: production Hobby-1 (1 GB) $18 + 10 GB × $0.10 = $1; staging Hobby-0 $9 × 176/730 hours = $2.17 + 10 GB of storage $1 (computed); assumes a Hobby-1 production cluster, which the docs say is not intended for production (Standard-4 makes it $74.17), and a staging cluster suspended outside working hours with a 10 GB disk
- Backups and point-in-time recovery
- 6.3 / 10, Good
- PITR up to 10 days on the entry paid plan without an add-on fee, automatic backups kept 10 days at no extra charge
- Compliance and data residency
- 8.0 / 10, Excellent
- SOC 2 Type II report on the entry paid plan, ISO 27001 not stated, HIPAA BAA on the entry paid plan, EU region
- Team and control
- 6.0 / 10, Good
- SAML SSO not listed; audit log on the entry paid plan; branches with production data; self-hosted version
Review
Review from public pages
Written from Crunchy Bridge's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 15, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.
What the public pages show
We read Crunchy Data's pricing, Crunchy Bridge, security and branding pages and the Crunchy Bridge docs on plans, billing, backups, point-in-time recovery, high availability, cluster management, SSO, auditing and support on Oct 15, 2026; we did not sign up for this review. Crunchy Data announced on June 2, 2025 that it was joining Snowflake; the Crunchy Bridge terms of service now sit on snowflake.com, and the pricing and registration pages are live. A cluster is priced by its size per month, prorated, plus $0.10 per GB of storage; the pricing page says backups and data transfer are included. A payment method is needed for the first cluster.
In AWS us-east-1, Hobby starts at $9 (512 MB) and $18 for 1 GB. The docs say Hobby runs on lower-quality infrastructure with burstable CPU, is not intended for production, and has best-effort support and no SLA. Production plans start at Standard-4 ($70, 4 GB), and high availability doubles the cluster price. Every cluster keeps 10 days of base backups and WAL; a fork restores any minute in that window to a new cluster, which also works as a staging copy of production. Suspended clusters bill storage only.
Two details need care. The pages state billing granularity three ways: hourly increments on the pricing page, by the minute and prorated to the second elsewhere. And dashboard SSO covers Google, Microsoft and OpenID Connect; the Okta guide says SAML is not supported. The SOC 2 Type 2 report and a HIPAA BAA are offered by contacting Crunchy Data.
Strengths
- Ten days of point-in-time recovery on every plan
Base backups and WAL are kept 10 days at no extra charge, and any minute in that window can be restored to a new cluster.
vs PlanetScale: Supabase sells PITR as an add-on from $100 a month; PlanetScale covers 2 days by default.
- Forks with production data
A fork is a new cluster built from any point in the backup window, billed at the normal cluster rate, so staging can start with real data.
vs PlanetScale: New PlanetScale and Supabase branches start without data unless restored from a backup or the PITR add-on is on.
- Data transfer and backups in the price
The pricing page says prices include infrastructure, backups and data transfer, and the product page says there are no networking or egress charges.
vs PlanetScale: Supabase, Neon and PlanetScale bill egress above an included amount.
- Three clouds
Clusters run on AWS, Azure or Google Cloud, with EU regions on all three, including Frankfurt, Ireland and Paris on AWS.
- Audit logs by default
Account-level audit logs record team actions such as provisioning and viewing credentials, and pgAudit database logging is on by default.
Things to know
- No free plan
Every cluster is paid; the smallest is Hobby-0 at $9 a month plus storage, and a card is needed to create it.
Workaround: The billing docs say clusters removed before $5 accrues in a month are not charged.
- Hobby plans are not for production
The docs say Hobby runs on lower-quality infrastructure with burstable CPU, best-effort monitoring and support, and no SLA; production plans start at $70 for 4 GB.
Workaround: Standard and Memory clusters with high availability get a 99.95% uptime SLA.
- No SAML SSO
Dashboard SSO works through Google, Microsoft or OpenID Connect at no extra charge; the Okta guide says SAML is not supported.
- Compliance documents on request
The SOC 2 Type 2 report and a HIPAA BAA are offered by contacting Crunchy Data; ISO 27001 is not stated, and the pages do not say which plans qualify.
Pricing reality
Crunchy Bridge bills each cluster by size per month, prorated, plus $0.10 per GB of storage; backups and data transfer are included, and PgBouncer comes with non-Hobby plans. In AWS us-east-1: Hobby-0 $9, Hobby-1 $18, Standard-4 $70, Standard-8 $140; high availability doubles the cluster price. Suspended clusters bill storage only. Premium support is $500 a month or 5% of the bill, Business $1,000 or 10%.
For our scenario: Hobby-1 production $18 + 10 GB $1; a Hobby-0 staging cluster suspended outside 176 hours, $9 × 176/730 = $2.17, + 10 GB $1: $22.17 a month, our arithmetic. On Standard-4, the smallest production plan, it is $74.17.
Exit path
The backups docs show credentials for downloading the pgBackRest backup files, and pg_dump logical backups work at any time; the docs also have a logical replication guide. Crunchy Data separately offers Crunchy Postgres for Kubernetes, an operator for self-managed Postgres with backups and high availability.
Compared with
- Pick Crunchy Bridge when
- You want 10 days of point-in-time recovery, forks that start with production data, and data transfer included in the price.
- Pick PlanetScale when
- You want the lower price in our scenario, SOC 2 and a BAA listed on the entry plan, and SAML SSO.
- Pick Crunchy Bridge when
- You want backups and data transfer in one cluster price and a choice of AWS, Azure or Google Cloud.
- Pick Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL when
- You need SAML SSO, a self-serve BAA, ISO 27001 and up to 35 days of point-in-time restore.
Choose it if
- You want point-in-time recovery and forks with real data on every plan.
- You want backups and data transfer included in the cluster price.
- You want the same managed Postgres on AWS, Azure or Google Cloud.
Look elsewhere if
- You want a free plan or a production plan below $70 a month.
- You need SAML SSO for the dashboard.
Bottom line
From its public pages, Crunchy Bridge includes 10 days of recovery on every plan and keeps the bill to a cluster price plus storage. Its lowest-priced plans are Hobby, which the docs say is not for production, and dashboard SSO is OpenID Connect rather than SAML.
Plan limits at a glance
| Limit | As recorded |
|---|---|
| Billing units | Cluster size per month (prorated), storage (GB) |
| Free plan | None; Hobby-0 from $9/mo plus storage |
| 10 GB app with staging, per month | $22.17 on Hobby, computed |
| Point-in-time recovery | Any minute in the last 10 days, every plan |
| Automatic backups at no extra charge | Daily base backups plus WAL, kept 10 days |
| SOC 2 Type II report | On request from Crunchy Data; no plan limit stated |
| HIPAA BAA | On request; no plan limit stated |
| EU regions | Frankfurt, Ireland, Paris, Stockholm, Milan (AWS); also Azure and GCP |
| SAML SSO for the dashboard | Not supported; Google, Microsoft or OpenID Connect SSO |
| Branch with production data | Yes, a fork from any point in the last 10 days |
Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 15, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check
We have not published a sign-up run for Crunchy Bridge yet. The access facts above were read from its sign-up and pricing pages on Oct 15, 2026.
We have not published API calls for Crunchy Bridge yet.
Crunchy Bridge lists 5 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Hobby-0, costs $9/mo.
- Crunchy BridgeLowest priceHobby-0$9/mo2 burstable vCPUs, 512 MB, AWS only; plus $0.10/GB storage
- Not intended for production, per the docs
- No PgBouncer, high availability or SLA
- Up to 100 GB of storage
- Backups and data transfer included
- Crunchy BridgeHobby-1$18/mo2 burstable vCPUs, 1 GB, AWS only; plus storage
- Crunchy BridgeStandard-4$70/mo1 core, 4 GB, AWS only; high availability doubles the price
- PgBouncer connection pooling
- 99.95% uptime SLA with high availability
- Continuous monitoring
- Crunchy BridgeStandard-8$140/mo2 cores, 8 GB; on AWS, Azure and GCP
- Crunchy BridgePremium support$500/moOr 5% of the bill, whichever is greater; Business support $1,000 or 10%
- Urgent tickets and response SLAs
- Standard support included free, best effort
Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-15.
Source: crunchydata.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.
