Zero-trust access, DNS and web filtering and device posture for up to 50 users at no cost, with a $7 per-user plan above that.
The Free plan is a working zero-trust setup rather than a trial: up to 50 users sign in with Okta, Entra ID, Google Workspace or any SAML or OIDC provider, private apps and networks are reached through the cloudflared connector, and Gateway filters DNS, HTTP and network traffic. Posture checks such as disk encryption, firewall and OS version, and integrations with CrowdStrike, SentinelOne and Intune, are on that plan too. Above 50 users, Pay-as-you-go costs $7 per user a month, and the compliance file includes SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001.
Free for up to 50 usersThe plans page lists the Free plan at "$0 forever" with a 50-user limit, for teams under 50 users or enterprise proof-of-concept tests, with no non-commercial restriction stated.Evidence: Plans page data (2026-10-16)
Private access and filtering in one clientAccess policies, DNS, HTTP and L4 filtering, antivirus inspection and SSH command logging are listed on every plan, so one client covers private access and web filtering.Evidence: Plans page data (2026-10-16)
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 for all plansThe trust hub says all Cloudflare plans are in scope of its SOC 2 report and lists ISO 27001, 27017, 27018 and 27701; dashboard SSO is free on every plan.Evidence: Trust hub SOC 2 and compliance pages, dashboard SSO docs (2026-10-16)
Best for
Teams of up to 50 people, or larger teams that want private access and web filtering from one vendor, who sign in with a SAML or OIDC identity provider.
Good to know
Logpush to a SIEM, dedicated egress IPs and EU data localization are listed for the Contract or Enterprise plan, priced by sales.
How Cloudflare Zero Trust compares
Against 3 other products we reviewed in Zero-trust access and business VPN: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.
Cloudflare Zero Trust compared with Twingate, Tailscale, NordLayer
Worth the priceZero-trust access, DNS and web filtering and device posture for up to 50 users at no cost, with a $7 per-user plan above that.
Worth the priceResource-by-resource access to private networks through connectors you run, with Google Workspace sign-in and posture checks from $5 per user.
Saves engineering timeA private WireGuard network for every laptop, phone and server, reached through your identity provider and one policy file instead of a VPN gateway.
Built-in reachA business VPN with gateways in 40+ countries, a dedicated IP for your team, and SSO, DNS filtering and posture monitoring on one per-user plan.
Overall score
8.2Best
7.3
6.8
6.2
Free option
Free plan
Free plan
Free plan
Paid only
Card to start
–Not measured
–Not measured
–Not measured
–Not measured
Getting access
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Self-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan
$7/user/mo
$5/user/mo
$8/user/mo
$8/user/mo
Pricing model
Per seat
Per seat
Per seat
Per seat
Pricing page
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Billing unit
Per user who authenticates; no device count published
Per user per month, counting admins, pending and disabled users and service accounts
Per user per month; user devices unlimited; 50 tagged resources included, then $1/mo each
Per user per month, 5-user minimum, plus a dedicated server on Core and Premium
Free option
Free plan for up to 50 users, business use allowed; no trial
Starter: free for 5 users; 14-day trial of paid plans
Personal: free for up to 6 users, non-commercial only; 14-day Enterprise trial for company domains
No free plan; 14-day money-back guarantee on the first purchase
Reference scenario (25 users)
$0/mo on Free (25 of 50 users), computed
$125/mo on Teams ($5 × 25, yearly), $5 per user, computed
$200/mo on Standard ($8 × 25), $8 per user, computed
$315/mo on Core ($11 × 25 + $40 server, yearly), $12.60 per user, computed
Annual vs monthly price
$7 per user on Pay-as-you-go; pages disagree on monthly or annual billing
Teams $5 yearly or $6 monthly; Business $10 or $12
One price per plan with no billing term; annual plans through sales
Core $11 yearly or $14 monthly; server $40 or $50
Devices per user
Not stated
5 on every plan; custom on Enterprise
Unlimited on every plan
6 simultaneous connections
Okta / Entra ID sign-in
Every plan (any SAML or OIDC provider)
Business and up; Google Workspace on every plan
Every plan (OIDC)
Every plan
SCIM
SAML and OIDC providers; no plan restriction stated
Business and up (Okta SCIM)
Standard and up (Okta, Entra ID, Google Workspace)
Premium; unpriced add-on on Lite and Core
Device posture
Built-in checks and EDR or MDM integrations on every plan
Native checks on every plan; MDM and EDR integrations from Business
Built-in checks on every plan; MDM and EDR integrations from Standard
Monitoring on Core, blocking on Premium; SentinelOne and CrowdStrike integrations on every plan
Network flow logs
Every plan; 24 hours on Free, 30 days on Pay-as-you-go
Every plan; 24 hours Starter, 7 days Teams, 30 days Business
Premium and up, 30 days
Every plan, 60 days
SIEM streaming
Logpush on Contract per the plans page; the docs say all customers
Business and up per the docs; the plan table also ticks Home
Premium and up
CrowdStrike Falcon Next-Gen SIEM; plan not stated
Self-hosted parts
cloudflared connector (open source)
Connectors (always customer-run)
DERP relays and peer relays
None
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
SOC 2 Type II (in the dashboard, under NDA); ISO 27001:2022
SOC 2 Type 2 (trust portal, on request); ISO 27001 not stated
SOC 2 Type II (on request); ISO 27001 not stated
SOC 2 Type 2 (Type I on the pricing page); ISO/IEC 27001:2022
HIPAA BAA
Enterprise-level customers handling PHI
Not stated; the HIPAA page says to ask by email
Not offered
Yearly subscriptions, on request
EU data storage
Data Localization Suite, Enterprise add-on
No; data stored in the US
Not guaranteed; coordination server in Frankfurt
Not stated
Bottom line
From its public pages, Cloudflare Zero Trust puts access, filtering and posture on a Free plan for up to 50 users. Activity logs are short below Contract, and SIEM export, egress IPs and EU storage go through sales.
From its public pages, Twingate offers per-resource access through your own connectors at $5 per user on Teams, with posture checks and an audit log. Enterprise identity providers, SCIM and longer logs start on Business, and data is stored in the US.
From its public pages, Tailscale gives a team identity-aware access to every device and server from the first plan, with unlimited user devices and policy as code. Flow logs and SIEM streaming start on Premium, and there is no BAA or EU residency guarantee.
From its public pages, NordLayer is a managed business VPN with SSO on every plan, a fixed IP and a strong compliance file. The required server raises the per-user cost on Core, and there is no free plan, admin API or Terraform provider.
Evidence: Cloudflare Zero Trust: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Twingate: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Tailscale: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; NordLayer: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
scenario plan priced; can be bought online; free plan, no billing term; Pay-as-you-go $7 is "billed monthly" on the plans page and "paid annually" on the Access page; plans page lists Logpush to a SIEM on Contract only, while the Logpush docs say it is available to all customers; DNS locations are 3, 50 and 250 by plan on the plans page and one limit of 250 in the account-limits docs; Remote Browser Isolation, dedicated egress IPs and other add-ons not priced
Price for 25 users
10.0 / 10, Excellent
$0/mo: Free at $0 × 25 users, free plan; $0 per user per month; the Free plan covers up to 50 users with IdP sign-in, access and Gateway policies, device posture, the cloudflared connector and admin logs kept 18 months
Free plan and trial
7.0 / 10, Good
free plan for commercial use, 50 users; IdP sign-in or access rules on free; no trial stated
Access controls
10.0 / 10, Excellent
Okta or Entra ID sign-in on the scenario plan; SCIM on the scenario plan; group or port rules on the scenario plan; posture with MDM or EDR on the scenario plan; connectors or subnet routing on the scenario plan; DNS filtering or web gateway on the scenario plan; SCIM described for all SAML and OIDC providers with no plan restriction stated
Visibility and exit
8.0 / 10, Excellent
audit log on the scenario plan; flow logs on the scenario plan; flow logs kept 1 day on the scenario plan; SIEM streaming enterprise or through sales only; admin API or Terraform; policy as code or export; self-hosted cloudflared connector (open source); network logs kept 24 hours on Free and 30 days on Pay-as-you-go; Logpush shown on Contract on the plans page
Compliance and data
8.3 / 10, Excellent
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, HIPAA BAA enterprise or through sales only, self-serve DPA, EU data storage enterprise or through sales only, admin-console SSO on the scenario plan, subprocessor list published, BAA for Enterprise-level customers whose use involves PHI; EU storage through the Enterprise Data Localization Suite
Review
Review from public pages
Written from Cloudflare Zero Trust's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.
What the public pages show
We read Cloudflare's Zero Trust plans page, the Access product page, the self-serve terms, the DPA and subprocessor list, the trust hub, and the developer docs on seats, account limits, identity providers, SCIM, posture checks, Mesh, logs, Logpush, dedicated egress IPs, data localization and Terraform on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up or create a Zero Trust organization.
The Free plan carries almost everything our scenario needs: identity-provider sign-in, access policies, device posture, the cloudflared connector, Gateway filtering and an 18-month admin log. What changes on paid plans is mostly log retention (24 hours on Free, 30 days on Pay-as-you-go), Logpush and add-ons.
Some pages disagree. Pay-as-you-go is "$7/user/month, billed monthly" in the plans data but "$7 per user/month (paid annually)" on the Access page; the plans page lists Logpush on Contract only while the Logpush docs say it is available to all customers; and the plans page gives 3, 50 and 250 DNS locations by plan while the account-limits docs list one default of 250.
Strengths
Most features on the Free plan
IdP sign-in, access policies, device posture integrations, connectors, DNS and HTTP filtering, SSH command logging and Terraform are all on Free, for up to 50 users.
vs Tailscale: Tailscale’s free plan is non-commercial and Twingate’s Starter allows 5 users.
Built-in DNS and web filtering
Gateway filters DNS, HTTP(S) with TLS inspection and L4 traffic by port and protocol on every plan.
vs Tailscale: Tailscale sells DNS filtering through sales, Twingate as an unpriced add-on on Business, and ZeroTier does not offer it.
Any SAML or OIDC identity provider
Okta, Entra ID, Google Workspace and generic SAML and OIDC connectors are supported on Free, and SCIM works with SAML and OIDC providers with no plan restriction stated.
Broad compliance file
SOC 2 Type II with all plans in scope, ISO 27001, 27017, 27018 and 27701, and dashboard SSO free on every plan.
Temporary access with approval
Access policies can require a purpose justification and an approver who grants access for up to 24 hours, listed on every plan.
Things to know
Short activity logs below Contract
Access, DNS, network and HTTP logs are kept 24 hours on Free and 30 days on Pay-as-you-go; admin logs are kept 18 months on every plan.
Workaround: Log Explorer stores logs for $1 per GB a month after 10 GB free.
A hard seat cap
Once purchased seats (or Free’s 50) are used, more users are blocked at login; seats stay taken until users are removed, and inactive-seat expiry is off by default.
Workaround: Turn on seat expiration, or buy more seats before adding users.
Enterprise-only data options
Dedicated egress IPs, EU data localization and a HIPAA BAA are Enterprise items with no published price; with the EU metadata boundary, Access user logs are not available outside the US region and the docs point EU customers to Logpush.
TLS inspection runs in Cloudflare data centers
With TLS inspection on, Gateway decrypts traffic in memory in Cloudflare data centers and re-encrypts it. Mesh, the device-to-device option, is in beta and routes through the nearest Cloudflare data center.
Pricing reality
Cloudflare bills per user who authenticates, with no device count published. For our scenario, 25 users fit the Free plan: $0 a month (computed). Pay-as-you-go is $7 per user a month ($175 for 25 users, computed), mainly for teams over 50 users or that want 30-day logs; the pages disagree on whether that price is billed monthly or annually. Contract plans are priced by sales and hold Logpush to a SIEM (per the plans page), longer retention, dedicated egress IPs, DLP and email security. Logpush is usage-priced in the docs (25 GB a month included, then $0.03 to $0.10 per GB) and Log Explorer is $1 per GB after 10 GB. Fees are non-refundable.
Exit path
Policies, applications and settings can be managed through the API and the official Terraform provider on every plan, so they can be kept as code; no export button is described. Logs leave through Logpush or Log Explorer. After cancelling, access continues to the end of the term, and the DPA lets you choose deletion or return of personal data; user records themselves cannot be deleted.
You want filtering and posture without a dedicated server fee.
Pick NordLayer when
You want a dedicated static IP and a HIPAA BAA on a self-serve annual plan.
Choose it if
Your team has 50 users or fewer and wants a free plan it can use for business.
You want DNS and web filtering in the same client as private access.
You sign in with any SAML or OIDC provider and want posture checks with EDR integrations.
Look elsewhere if
You need SIEM streaming, egress IPs or EU data storage without a sales contract.
You want traffic end-to-end encrypted between devices on every path.
Bottom line
From its public pages, Cloudflare Zero Trust puts access, filtering and posture on a Free plan for up to 50 users. Activity logs are short below Contract, and SIEM export, egress IPs and EU storage go through sales.
Plan limits at a glance
Limit
As recorded
Billing unit
Per user who authenticates; no device count published
Free option
Free plan for up to 50 users, business use allowed; no trial
Reference scenario (25 users)
$0/mo on Free (25 of 50 users), computed
Annual vs monthly price
$7 per user on Pay-as-you-go; pages disagree on monthly or annual billing
Devices per user
Not stated
Okta / Entra ID sign-in
Every plan (any SAML or OIDC provider)
SCIM
SAML and OIDC providers; no plan restriction stated
Device posture
Built-in checks and EDR or MDM integrations on every plan
Network flow logs
Every plan; 24 hours on Free, 30 days on Pay-as-you-go
SIEM streaming
Logpush on Contract per the plans page; the docs say all customers
Self-hosted parts
cloudflared connector (open source)
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
SOC 2 Type II (in the dashboard, under NDA); ISO 27001:2022
HIPAA BAA
Enterprise-level customers handling PHI
EU data storage
Data Localization Suite, Enterprise add-on
Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check
We have not published a sign-up run for Cloudflare Zero Trust yet. The access facts above were read from its sign-up and pricing pages on Oct 16, 2026.
We have not published API calls for Cloudflare Zero Trust yet.
Cloudflare Zero Trust lists 3 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Pay-as-you-go, costs $7/user/mo.
CFCloudflare Zero TrustFree
Free
$0/mo
Up to 50 users
Sign-in with any SAML or OIDC identity provider
Access policies, device posture and posture integrations
DNS, HTTP and L4 filtering; up to 3 DNS locations
Activity logs kept 24 hours; admin logs 18 months
CFCloudflare Zero Trust
Pay-as-you-go
$7/user/mo
No user limit; the plans page says billed monthly, the Access page says paid annually
Activity logs kept 30 days
Up to 50 DNS locations
Remote Browser Isolation as an add-on
Log Explorer: 10 GB free, then $1 per GB a month
CFCloudflare Zero Trust
Contract
Contact sales
Annual custom price per user
Logpush to a SIEM and cloud storage
Dedicated egress IPs, DLP, CASB and email security as add-ons
Up to 250 DNS locations
Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-16.
We read the pricing, trust, legal, help center and developer pages of three zero-trust access services on the same day and scored them on the same six indicators. What 25 users cost, where SSO, SCIM, posture and logs sit, and who should pick which.