Zero-trust access and business VPN · Comparison
Cloudflare Zero Trust vs Tailscale
2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.
Side by side
| Metric | Cloudflare Zero Trust | Tailscale |
|---|---|---|
| What you're paying for | Worth the priceZero-trust access, DNS and web filtering and device posture for up to 50 users at no cost, with a $7 per-user plan above that. | Saves engineering timeA private WireGuard network for every laptop, phone and server, reached through your identity provider and one policy file instead of a VPN gateway. |
| Overall score | 8.2Best | 6.8 |
| Free option | Free plan | Free plan |
| Card to start | –Not measured | –Not measured |
| Getting access | Self-serve | Self-serve |
| Starter priceCheapest paid plan | $7/user/mo | $8/user/mo |
| Pricing model | Per seat | Per seat |
| Pricing page | Public prices | Public prices |
| Billing unit | Per user who authenticates; no device count published | Per user per month; user devices unlimited; 50 tagged resources included, then $1/mo each |
| Free option | Free plan for up to 50 users, business use allowed; no trial | Personal: free for up to 6 users, non-commercial only; 14-day Enterprise trial for company domains |
| Reference scenario (25 users) | $0/mo on Free (25 of 50 users), computed | $200/mo on Standard ($8 × 25), $8 per user, computed |
| Annual vs monthly price | $7 per user on Pay-as-you-go; pages disagree on monthly or annual billing | One price per plan with no billing term; annual plans through sales |
| Devices per user | Not stated | Unlimited on every plan |
| Okta / Entra ID sign-in | Every plan (any SAML or OIDC provider) | Every plan (OIDC) |
| SCIM | SAML and OIDC providers; no plan restriction stated | Standard and up (Okta, Entra ID, Google Workspace) |
| Device posture | Built-in checks and EDR or MDM integrations on every plan | Built-in checks on every plan; MDM and EDR integrations from Standard |
| Network flow logs | Every plan; 24 hours on Free, 30 days on Pay-as-you-go | Premium and up, 30 days |
| SIEM streaming | Logpush on Contract per the plans page; the docs say all customers | Premium and up |
| Self-hosted parts | cloudflared connector (open source) | DERP relays and peer relays |
| SOC 2 / ISO 27001 | SOC 2 Type II (in the dashboard, under NDA); ISO 27001:2022 | SOC 2 Type II (on request); ISO 27001 not stated |
| HIPAA BAA | Enterprise-level customers handling PHI | Not offered |
| EU data storage | Data Localization Suite, Enterprise add-on | Not guaranteed; coordination server in Frankfurt |
| Bottom line | From its public pages, Cloudflare Zero Trust puts access, filtering and posture on a Free plan for up to 50 users. Activity logs are short below Contract, and SIEM export, egress IPs and EU storage go through sales. | From its public pages, Tailscale gives a team identity-aware access to every device and server from the first plan, with unlimited user devices and policy as code. Flow logs and SIEM streaming start on Premium, and there is no BAA or EU residency guarantee. |
Evidence: Cloudflare Zero Trust: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Tailscale: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
When to pick each
In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.
From our Cloudflare Zero Trust review
Checked Oct 16, 2026- Pick Cloudflare Zero Trust when
- You want up to 50 users free for business use, with DNS and web filtering in the same client.
- Pick Tailscale when
- You want direct WireGuard connections between devices, unlimited devices per user and a policy file in Git.
From our Tailscale review
Checked Oct 16, 2026- Pick Tailscale when
- You want direct device-to-device WireGuard connections, unlimited devices per user and a policy file kept in Git.
- Pick Cloudflare Zero Trust when
- You want up to 50 users free for business use, with DNS and web filtering in the same client.
Entry price
Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.
- Cloudflare Zero TrustPay-as-you-go$7/user/moNo user limit; the plans page says billed monthly, the Access page says paid annually
- Activity logs kept 30 days
- Up to 50 DNS locations
- Remote Browser Isolation as an add-on
- Log Explorer: 10 GB free, then $1 per GB a month
- TailscaleStandard$8/user/moOne price published, no billing term; annual plans through sales
- Unlimited users, up to 10 ACL groups
- SCIM user and group provisioning
- Posture integrations: CrowdStrike, SentinelOne, Intune, Jamf and more
- 50 tagged resources, then $1 a month each
Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Cloudflare Zero Trust 2026-10-16, Tailscale 2026-10-16.
Which one fits
- If you need to start today without a sales call
- Cloudflare Zero TrustSelf-serve sign-up; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (8.2/10).
- Lowest starter price
- Cloudflare Zero Trust$7/user/mo for the Pay-as-you-go plan.
- Highest overall score
- Cloudflare Zero Trust8.2/10 (Excellent). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.
Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score
Full reviews
More in Zero-trust access and business VPN
Add a product
Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.