Zero-trust access and business VPN · Comparison

Cloudflare Zero Trust vs NordLayer

2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.

Side by side

Cloudflare Zero Trust vs NordLayer: value, access facts, plan limits and bottom lines
MetricCloudflare Zero TrustNordLayer
What you're paying forWorth the priceZero-trust access, DNS and web filtering and device posture for up to 50 users at no cost, with a $7 per-user plan above that.Built-in reachA business VPN with gateways in 40+ countries, a dedicated IP for your team, and SSO, DNS filtering and posture monitoring on one per-user plan.
Overall score8.2Best6.2
Free optionFree planPaid only
Card to start–Not measured–Not measured
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$7/user/mo$8/user/mo
Pricing modelPer seatPer seat
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitPer user who authenticates; no device count publishedPer user per month, 5-user minimum, plus a dedicated server on Core and Premium
Free optionFree plan for up to 50 users, business use allowed; no trialNo free plan; 14-day money-back guarantee on the first purchase
Reference scenario (25 users)$0/mo on Free (25 of 50 users), computed$315/mo on Core ($11 × 25 + $40 server, yearly), $12.60 per user, computed
Annual vs monthly price$7 per user on Pay-as-you-go; pages disagree on monthly or annual billingCore $11 yearly or $14 monthly; server $40 or $50
Devices per userNot stated6 simultaneous connections
Okta / Entra ID sign-inEvery plan (any SAML or OIDC provider)Every plan
SCIMSAML and OIDC providers; no plan restriction statedPremium; unpriced add-on on Lite and Core
Device postureBuilt-in checks and EDR or MDM integrations on every planMonitoring on Core, blocking on Premium; SentinelOne and CrowdStrike integrations on every plan
Network flow logsEvery plan; 24 hours on Free, 30 days on Pay-as-you-goEvery plan, 60 days
SIEM streamingLogpush on Contract per the plans page; the docs say all customersCrowdStrike Falcon Next-Gen SIEM; plan not stated
Self-hosted partscloudflared connector (open source)None
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type II (in the dashboard, under NDA); ISO 27001:2022SOC 2 Type 2 (Type I on the pricing page); ISO/IEC 27001:2022
HIPAA BAAEnterprise-level customers handling PHIYearly subscriptions, on request
EU data storageData Localization Suite, Enterprise add-onNot stated
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Cloudflare Zero Trust puts access, filtering and posture on a Free plan for up to 50 users. Activity logs are short below Contract, and SIEM export, egress IPs and EU storage go through sales.From its public pages, NordLayer is a managed business VPN with SSO on every plan, a fixed IP and a strong compliance file. The required server raises the per-user cost on Core, and there is no free plan, admin API or Terraform provider.

Evidence: Cloudflare Zero Trust: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; NordLayer: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

When to pick each

In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.

  • Pick Cloudflare Zero Trust when
    You want filtering and posture without a dedicated server fee.
    Pick NordLayer when
    You want a dedicated static IP and a HIPAA BAA on a self-serve annual plan.
  • From our NordLayer review

    Checked Oct 16, 2026
    Pick NordLayer when
    You want a dedicated static IP and a HIPAA BAA on a self-serve yearly plan.
    Pick Cloudflare Zero Trust when
    You want a free plan for up to 50 users and an admin API with a Terraform provider.

Entry price

Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.

  • Cloudflare Zero Trust
    Pay-as-you-go
    $7/user/mo
    No user limit; the plans page says billed monthly, the Access page says paid annually
    • Activity logs kept 30 days
    • Up to 50 DNS locations
    • Remote Browser Isolation as an add-on
    • Log Explorer: 10 GB free, then $1 per GB a month
  • NordLayer
    Lite
    $8/user/mo
    Billed yearly; $10 month to month; 5 users minimum
    • Shared gateways in 40+ countries
    • SSO with Okta, Entra ID, OneLogin, Google and JumpCloud
    • Activity reports kept 60 days
    • No Virtual Private Gateway

Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Cloudflare Zero Trust 2026-10-16, NordLayer 2026-10-16.

Which one fits

If you need to start today without a sales call
Cloudflare Zero TrustSelf-serve sign-up; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (8.2/10).
Lowest starter price
Cloudflare Zero Trust$7/user/mo for the Pay-as-you-go plan.
Highest overall score
Cloudflare Zero Trust8.2/10 (Excellent). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.

Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score

Full reviews

More in Zero-trust access and business VPN

Add a product

Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.