AI coding assistants · Comparison
Gemini Code Assist vs GitHub Copilot
2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.
Side by side
| Metric | Gemini Code Assist | GitHub Copilot |
|---|---|---|
| What you're paying for | Compliance includedFor existing Google Cloud customers: completion, chat and an agent mode with daily request quotas, IP indemnity and no prompt storage. | Compliance includedUnlimited completions plus chat and agents on models from several providers, with no training on your code and IP indemnity from $19 a user. |
| Overall score | 4.1 | 8.3Best |
| Free option | Paid only | Free plan |
| Card to start | –Not measured | –Not measured |
| Getting access | –Not measured | Self-serve |
| Starter priceCheapest paid plan | $22.80/user/mo | $10/mo |
| Pricing model | Per seat | Seat + usage |
| Pricing page | Public prices | Public prices |
| Billing unit | Per user per month; daily request quotas, no overage | Per user per month; chat and agent usage in AI credits ($0.01 each) |
| Free option | None now; the individual tier stopped on June 18, 2026 | Copilot Free: 2,000 completions a month, limited chat and agent usage |
| Reference scenario (5 developers) | Not priced: new subscriptions ended Oct 9, 2026 (existing: $95/mo on Standard) | $95/mo on Business ($19 × 5, billed monthly), computed |
| Included usage (organization plan) | 6,000 code, 960 chat and 1,500 agent requests per user a day | 1,900 AI credits ($19) per user a month, pooled; completions unlimited |
| Usage beyond the plan | None; requests stop until the quota resets | Per-token rates in AI credits; on by default for organizations, budgets available |
| Models | Google Gemini models only | Anthropic, OpenAI, Google, xAI, Microsoft and Moonshot models on Business |
| Training on your code | Gemini does not train on prompts or responses | Not on Business and Enterprise; Free to Max train unless you opt out |
| Data retention | Stateless: prompts and responses not stored | IDE prompts not retained; other surfaces 28 days (Business) |
| IP indemnity | Standard and Enterprise, unmodified output | Business and Enterprise, unmodified suggestions with the filter on |
| SSO / SCIM / audit log | SSO through Cloud Identity federation; SCIM not stated; Cloud Audit Logs | SAML SSO and audit log listed for Business; SCIM through managed users in an enterprise account |
| SOC 2 / ISO 27001 | SOC 1, 2 and 3 (Type II not stated), ISO 27001 | SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 cover Copilot Business and Enterprise |
| Editors and surfaces | VS Code, JetBrains IDEs, Android Studio, Cloud Shell, Cloud Workstations | VS Code, Visual Studio, JetBrains, Xcode, Eclipse, Neovim, Zed, CLI, github.com |
| Bottom line | From its public pages, Gemini Code Assist offers clear quotas, IP indemnity and no prompt storage, but new subscriptions ended on Oct 9, 2026, so it suits existing Google Cloud customers rather than new buyers. | From its public pages, Copilot Business puts unlimited completions, $19 of pooled usage per user, a wide model choice and the main enterprise controls on a $19 seat. Set budgets early: extra usage is on by default for organizations. |
Evidence: Gemini Code Assist: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; GitHub Copilot: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
When to pick each
In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.
From our Gemini Code Assist review
Checked Oct 16, 2026- Pick Gemini Code Assist when
- You already hold a subscription and want daily request quotas with no overage on Google Cloud.
- Pick GitHub Copilot when
- You are buying today and want several model providers, unlimited completions and pooled credits at $19 a seat.
Entry price
Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.
- Gemini Code AssistStandard$22.80/user/mo$19 with an annual commitment; no longer sold to new customers since Oct 9, 2026
- Code completion, chat and agent mode
- 6,000 code and 960 chat requests per user a day
- 1,500 agent requests per user a day
- IP indemnity
- GitHub CopilotLowest pricePro$10/moIndividuals; 1,500 AI credits ($15) a month, of which 500 are a flex allotment that may change
- Unlimited completions and next edit suggestions
- Cloud agent and pull request code review
- Most models; some premium models excluded
Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Gemini Code Assist 2026-10-16, GitHub Copilot 2026-10-16.
Which one fits
- If you need to start today without a sales call
- GitHub CopilotSelf-serve sign-up; the only one here you can use right after signing up.
- Lowest starter price
- GitHub Copilot$10/mo for the Pro (individual) plan.
- Highest overall score
- GitHub Copilot8.3/10 (Excellent). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.
Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score
Full reviews
More in AI coding assistants
Add a product
Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.