Cloud file storage and sharing · Comparison

Dropbox vs pCloud

2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.

Side by side

Dropbox vs pCloud: value, access facts, plan limits and bottom lines
MetricDropboxpCloud
What you're paying forEasy to adoptTeam storage built for sharing with clients: link passwords, expiry dates, download blocking and 180-day recovery on the entry team plan.Worth the priceLow-cost team storage with client-side encryption included and a choice of EU or US data region at sign-up.
Overall score7.6Best5.8
Free optionFree planFree plan
Card to start–Not measured–Not measured
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$15/user/mo$7.99/user/mo
Pricing modelPer seatPer seat
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitPer license per month; storage pooled for the teamPer user per month, 3 users minimum; storage pooled
Free optionDropbox Basic, 2 GB; free trial of Standard and Advanced (30 days per the plans page)Free plan, 2 GB (up to 10 GB); 30-day Business trial
Reference scenario (10 users, 2 TB, annual)$150/mo on Standard ($15 × 10), computed$79.90/mo on Business ($7.99 × 10), computed
Month-to-month price$18 per user on Standard ($18 / $30 for Standard and Advanced)$9.99 per user on Business ($14.98 on Business Pro for new accounts)
Storage on the scenario plan3 TB plus 1 TB per additional active license, pooled (12 TB for 10)1 TB per user, pooled with custom quotas (10 TB for 10)
Restore deleted files180 days on Standard, 1 year on Advanced180 days per the Business page; the help center lists 30 or 365 days
Password and expiring linksStandard and upPremium users per the help center; Business not stated
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 report and ISO 27001 certificate cover Standard and upISO 27001; no SOC 2 stated
HIPAA BAAStandard and up; US admins sign it in the Admin ConsoleNot stated
EU data storageBy support request: 10+ licenses, annual billing, billing address outside the current regionEU (Luxembourg) or US (Dallas), chosen at sign-up
SSOAdvanced and up ($24)Not stated
Admin activity logAudit logs with file event tracking on Advanced; Standard admins see 180 days of activityActivity logs per user and team
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Dropbox Standard is a complete sharing plan for teams: link controls, file requests, 180-day recovery and a HIPAA BAA at $15 per user. SSO and audit logs need Advanced, and Enterprise and extra storage are priced outside the plans page.From its public pages, pCloud Business is low-cost encrypted storage with an EU or US region and a shared pool. Its admin and compliance list is shorter than the others here, and a few help center details differ from the Business page.

Evidence: Dropbox: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; pCloud: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

When to pick each

In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.

  • From our pCloud review

    Checked Oct 16, 2026
    Pick pCloud when
    You want encrypted storage at about half the per-user price ($7.99 against $15).
    Pick Dropbox when
    You need link passwords, a HIPAA BAA and a SOC 2 report on the entry team plan.

Entry price

Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.

  • Dropbox
    Standard
    $15/user/mo
    Billed yearly; $18 billed monthly; no minimum team size
    • 3 TB for the first license plus 1 TB per additional active license, shared
    • Password-protected and expiring links, download blocking, viewer history
    • 180 days to restore deleted files and versions
    • Admin console, team sharing controls, HIPAA BAA
  • pCloudLowest price
    Business
    $7.99/user/mo
    Billed annually; $9.99 monthly; 3 users minimum
    • 1 TB per user, pooled, with custom quotas
    • pCloud Encryption (client-side) included
    • Teams, access levels and activity logs
    • 180 days of file versioning, branded links

Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Dropbox 2026-10-16, pCloud 2026-10-16.

Which one fits

If you need to start today without a sales call
DropboxSelf-serve sign-up; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (7.6/10).
Lowest starter price
pCloud$7.99/user/mo for the Business (billed annually) plan.
Highest overall score
Dropbox7.6/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.

Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score

Full reviews

More in Cloud file storage and sharing

Add a product

Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.