Cloud file storage and sharing · Comparison
Box vs pCloud
2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.
Side by side
| Metric | Box | pCloud |
|---|---|---|
| What you're paying for | Saves engineering timeUnlimited storage with single sign-on, e-signatures and Box AI from the Business plan, and HIPAA and FedRAMP support on Enterprise. | Worth the priceLow-cost team storage with client-side encryption included and a choice of EU or US data region at sign-up. |
| Overall score | 7.3Best | 5.8 |
| Free option | Free plan | Free plan |
| Card to start | –Not measured | –Not measured |
| Getting access | Self-serve | Self-serve |
| Starter priceCheapest paid plan | $5/user/mo | $7.99/user/mo |
| Pricing model | Per seat | Per seat |
| Pricing page | Public prices | Public prices |
| Billing unit | Per user per month, 3 users minimum | Per user per month, 3 users minimum; storage pooled |
| Free option | Individual plan, 10 GB; 14-day trial of business plans | Free plan, 2 GB (up to 10 GB); 30-day Business trial |
| Reference scenario (10 users, 2 TB, annual) | $150/mo on Business ($15 × 10), computed | $79.90/mo on Business ($7.99 × 10), computed |
| Month-to-month price | $20 per user on Business ($7 / $20 / $33 / $47 from Business Starter to Enterprise) | $9.99 per user on Business ($14.98 on Business Pro for new accounts) |
| Storage on the scenario plan | Unlimited; Business Starter has 100 GB | 1 TB per user, pooled with custom quotas (10 TB for 10) |
| Restore deleted files | 30 days by default, adjustable by admins; 50 file versions | 180 days per the Business page; the help center lists 30 or 365 days |
| Password and expiring links | All paid plans | Premium users per the help center; Business not stated |
| SOC 2 / ISO 27001 | SOC 1 and 2 Type II (under NDA); ISO 27001:2022 | ISO 27001; no SOC 2 stated |
| HIPAA BAA | Enterprise and up ($35) | Not stated |
| EU data storage | Box Zones add-on, no listed price; checked on Enterprise Plus | EU (Luxembourg) or US (Dallas), chosen at sign-up |
| SSO | Business and up | Not stated |
| Admin activity log | Full user activity tracking from Business Plus ($25) | Activity logs per user and team |
| Bottom line | From its public pages, Box Business gives unlimited storage, SSO, link controls and e-signatures for $15 per user. External collaborators, activity tracking and HIPAA move you up the plan ladder, and several add-ons have no listed price. | From its public pages, pCloud Business is low-cost encrypted storage with an EU or US region and a shared pool. Its admin and compliance list is shorter than the others here, and a few help center details differ from the Business page. |
Evidence: Box: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; pCloud: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
When to pick each
In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.
From our pCloud review
Checked Oct 16, 2026- Pick pCloud when
- You want a low price and an EU region chosen at sign-up.
- Pick Box when
- You need unlimited storage, SSO and e-signatures.
Entry price
Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.
- BoxLowest priceBusiness Starter$5/user/moBilled annually; $7 monthly; 3 to 10 users
- 100 GB of storage, 2 GB uploads
- 25 file versions
- 10 Box Sign requests a month
- pCloudBusiness$7.99/user/moBilled annually; $9.99 monthly; 3 users minimum
- 1 TB per user, pooled, with custom quotas
- pCloud Encryption (client-side) included
- Teams, access levels and activity logs
- 180 days of file versioning, branded links
Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Box 2026-10-16, pCloud 2026-10-16.
Which one fits
- If you need to start today without a sales call
- BoxSelf-serve sign-up; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (7.3/10).
- Lowest starter price
- Box$5/user/mo for the Business Starter (billed annually) plan.
- Highest overall score
- Box7.3/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.
Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score
Full reviews
More in Cloud file storage and sharing
Add a product
Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.