Paddle becomes the seller of record: it files and remits sales tax and VAT and answers buyer billing questions, all inside 5% + 50¢.
With Paddle as merchant of record, your customer buys from Paddle, which collects the right tax, tracks filing deadlines and submits returns, handles chargebacks and fields payment, subscription and cancellation questions. All of that is in one 5% + 50¢ fee with no monthly charge; in our scenario that is $600 a month. You trade a higher fee and a monthly payout schedule for not registering or filing sales tax and VAT yourself.
Tax filing handledThe pricing FAQ says Paddle collects the correct rate of tax, tracks filing deadlines and submits sales tax returns with the payments, so you do not have to.Evidence: Pricing page (2026-10-15)
One fee, one linePayments, subscriptions, extra payment methods, subscription migration and payment-related buyer support are covered by 5% + 50¢, with no monthly or migration fees.Evidence: Pricing page (2026-10-15)
Reports for a security reviewThe trust center lists a 2025 SOC 2 Type II report and a 2026 PCI DSS Attestation of Compliance; full documents are available on request.Evidence: Trust center (2026-10-15)
Best for
SaaS and app teams selling internationally who would rather not register for, collect and file sales tax and VAT themselves.
Good to know
Payouts are monthly with a $100 minimum, and each chargeback costs $20, not refunded if Paddle wins the dispute.
How Paddle compares
Against 3 other products we reviewed in Payments and billing: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.
Paddle compared with Stripe, Braintree, FastSpring
Compliance includedPaddle becomes the seller of record: it files and remits sales tax and VAT and answers buyer billing questions, all inside 5% + 50¢.
Saves engineering timeCard payments, subscriptions and tax calculation as separate per-transaction lines, with the lowest total of the three in our scenario: $500 on $10,000.
Worth the priceCards, PayPal and Venmo through one gateway, with the lowest card fees in our scenario: $368 on $10,000 a month, subscriptions included.
Compliance includedFastSpring becomes the seller of record: it collects and remits sales tax and VAT, runs subscriptions and handles fraud and chargebacks for one quoted rate.
Overall score
6.9
8.1Best
7.5
5.3
Free option
–Not measured
–Not measured
–Not measured
Free trial
Card to start
–Not measured
–Not measured
–Not measured
–Not measured
Getting access
Approval wait
Self-serve
Approval wait
Self-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan
5% + 50¢/transaction
2.9% + 30¢/US card charge
2.89% + 29¢/card transaction
Quote/transaction
Pricing model
Usage-based
Usage-based
Usage-based
Custom quote
Pricing page
Public prices
Public prices
Public prices
Prices hidden
Model
Merchant of record
Payment processor; you are the seller
Payment processor; you are the seller
Merchant of record
Base fee
5% + 50¢ per transaction
2.9% + 30¢ per US card
2.89% + 29¢ per US card
Quoted revenue share; no published rate
$10,000/mo scenario
$600 (6.0%), computed
$500 (5.0%), computed
$368 (3.7%), computed
Not computable; priced by sales
Sales tax and VAT filing
Paddle files and remits
Yours; Tax Complete from $90/mo, or Managed Payments +3.5%
Yours; no tax product offered
FastSpring collects and remits
Dispute fee
$20, not refunded if won
$15, plus $15 to counter (refunded if won)
$15, not refunded if won
$20 per chargeback or prevention alert
Payouts
Monthly, $100 minimum
Daily, weekly or monthly; standard schedule free
Every weekday (US accounts)
Twice a month by default; weekly or monthly; $100 minimum
Charge currencies
33
135+
130+, one merchant account per currency
36
Team access
Five roles, 2FA
Granular roles, SAML SSO, audit log
Custom roles, SAML SSO, SCIM, 2FA required
Ten predefined roles, 2FA, Okta (OIDC) or Google SSO
Card export if you leave
Not documented; data portability stated
Documented, to a PCI DSS Level 1 processor
Documented, free, to a PCI-compliant gateway
Not documented; data returned in a standard form
Security reports
PCI DSS attestation, SOC 2 Type II
PCI Service Provider Level 1, SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II
PCI DSS Level 1 service provider; no SOC 2 stated
PCI DSS, SOC 2 Type 2, SOC 3
Bottom line
From its public pages, Paddle is the most complete merchant of record here for a SaaS business: tax filing, buyer support and security reports in one 5% + 50¢ fee. Plan around monthly payouts and the $20 chargeback fee.
From its public pages, Stripe has the lowest fees in our scenario and the strongest controls and exit path here. Tax registration and filing stay with you unless you pay for Tax Complete or Managed Payments.
From its public pages, Braintree has the lowest fees in our scenario and strong access controls and exit terms. It leaves tax entirely to you and takes an application before you go live.
From its public pages, FastSpring is a full merchant of record with strong B2B tools and security reports, but its rate is quoted by sales, so its cost cannot be compared here before a call.
Evidence: Paddle: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Stripe: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Braintree: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; FastSpring: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
one fee covers the scenario; not on the pricing page: $20 chargeback fee, $15 SWIFT fee on payouts to some countries
Fees on $10,000 a month
5.0 / 10, Fair
$600/mo, 6.0% of volume: 200 × ($2.50 + $0.50) (computed from the pricing page)
Tax and compliance you inherit
10.0 / 10, Excellent
merchant of record in the base fee, buyer payment support included, PCI DSS stated, own SOC 2 Type II
Payouts and currencies
5.8 / 10, Fair
monthly payouts, free in most countries, a fee in some, 33 charge currencies
Team and control
5.0 / 10, Fair
granular roles, SAML SSO not stated, 2FA, audit log not stated
Data portability
7.5 / 10, Good
data portability stated, no card export process published, customers and subscriptions via API, no lock-in stated
Review
Review from public pages
Written from Paddle's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 15, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.
What the public pages show
We read Paddle's pricing page, trust center, help articles on payouts, chargebacks, team members and domain approval, and its supported-currencies and API docs on Oct 15, 2026; we did not sign up for this review. The pricing page has one self-serve price, 5% + 50¢ per checkout transaction, plus custom pricing for high volume. It says there are no monthly fees, migration fees or hidden extras, and that products under $10 can get bespoke pricing.
The help center adds two fees the pricing page does not show: a $20 (€20 or £20) chargeback fee that is not refunded even when Paddle wins the dispute, and a $15 SWIFT fee that may apply to payouts in certain countries. Payouts are made once a month when your balance is over a threshold you set, from $100.
Before a live checkout opens, Paddle reviews each domain you sell from for a product description, pricing, terms, refund and privacy policies. The help article says most domains are approved automatically and some go to manual review; the sandbox needs no approval.
Strengths
Tax filing included
Paddle is the merchant of record, so it collects, files and remits sales tax and VAT; you do not register in each jurisdiction.
vs Stripe: On Stripe, filing needs Tax Complete (from $90 a month) or Managed Payments (+3.5%).
One fee to model
Our scenario is priced with a single line, 5% + 50¢, with no international or subscription surcharge.
vs Lemon Squeezy: Lemon Squeezy adds 1.5% for non-US and 0.5% for subscription payments.
Buyer billing support
Paddle handles payment, subscription and cancellation questions from your customers.
Security reports on file
A 2025 SOC 2 Type II report and a 2026 PCI DSS Attestation of Compliance are listed in the trust center.
vs Lemon Squeezy: Lemon Squeezy states PCI DSS compliance but no SOC 2 report.
Role-based team access
Team members get Admin, Finance, Technical, Support or Subscription KPIs roles, each limited to its part of the dashboard.
vs Lemon Squeezy: Lemon Squeezy has owners and members.
Things to know
Monthly payouts
Payouts are made once a month, by wire or Payoneer, when your balance is above the threshold you set (at least $100).
Chargebacks still cost a fee
Each chargeback or pre-chargeback alert costs $20 (€20 or £20, 40 CAD or AUD), deducted from your balance and not refunded when Paddle wins.
No published card-export process
The pricing FAQ says your data is yours and can be migrated to another provider, but the pages we read describe moving cards into Paddle, not out.
Workaround: Ask Paddle for the export terms before you sign.
SSO and audit log not stated
We found no SAML SSO or audit log in the pages we read; Paddle documents two-factor authentication and role-based access.
Pricing reality
Paddle charges 5% + 50¢ per checkout transaction with no monthly fee; custom pricing is offered for high volume and for products under $10. The fee covers payments, subscriptions, tax collection and filing, fraud protection and buyer support. Outside it: a $20 chargeback fee (not refunded if won), a $15 SWIFT fee on payouts to some countries, and the invoicing, advisory and implementation services listed under 'Book a demo'.
For our scenario (200 charges of $50): 200 × ($2.50 + $0.50) = $600 a month, 6.0% of volume. Customers can pay in 33 currencies; balances are held in USD, EUR, GBP, AUD or CAD.
Exit path
The pricing FAQ says there is no lock-in period and that your data is yours and can be migrated to another provider. The API lists customers and subscriptions; the pages we read describe a card migration into Paddle, run by its Solutions Architects, but not one out.
You sell SaaS and want one fee without surcharges, SOC 2 Type II on file, charges in 33 currencies and role-based access.
Pick Lemon Squeezy when
You sell digital downloads and want a storefront, license keys and email marketing in the same account.
Choose it if
You sell software internationally and do not want to register for sales tax and VAT.
You want one all-in fee that is easy to forecast.
You want buyer billing support handled for you.
Look elsewhere if
You need payouts more often than monthly.
You need SAML SSO for your billing dashboard.
Bottom line
From its public pages, Paddle is the most complete merchant of record here for a SaaS business: tax filing, buyer support and security reports in one 5% + 50¢ fee. Plan around monthly payouts and the $20 chargeback fee.
Plan limits at a glance
Limit
As recorded
Model
Merchant of record
Base fee
5% + 50¢ per transaction
$10,000/mo scenario
$600 (6.0%), computed
Sales tax and VAT filing
Paddle files and remits
Dispute fee
$20, not refunded if won
Payouts
Monthly, $100 minimum
Charge currencies
33
Team access
Five roles, 2FA
Card export if you leave
Not documented; data portability stated
Security reports
PCI DSS attestation, SOC 2 Type II
Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 15, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check
We have not published a sign-up run for Paddle yet. The access facts above were read from its sign-up and pricing pages on Oct 15, 2026.
We have not published API calls for Paddle yet; access was not open to our agent.
We read the pricing, security, help and docs pages of a payment processor and two merchants of record on the same day and scored them on the same six indicators. What $10,000 a month costs, who files the tax, and who should pick which.