Algolia review

by AlgoliaSearch APIs

Hosted search billed per search request and record, with a permanent free plan and nothing to size.

Facts checked
  • Free plan
  • No card needed
  • Self-serve
  • Usage-based
  • Public prices
Visit site

What you're paying for

  • Saves engineering time (main value)
  • Easy to adopt

Hosted search with no cluster to size: pay per search request and record, starting from a permanent free plan.

Algolia runs the search infrastructure and bills only for what you use: search requests and records. There is no server or memory size to choose, the free plan covers 10,000 searches and 50,000 records a month without a card, and Grow is billed monthly with no contract. Every plan can be hosted in the US, the UK or EU West, and Algolia lists SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001.

  • Nothing to size or runGrow and Grow Plus are priced per 1,000 search requests and records, with no cluster, memory or instance size on the pricing page.Evidence: Pricing page (2026-10-15)
  • A permanent free plan10,000 search requests and 50,000 records a month, with no credit card; it is the only permanent free plan in this comparison.Evidence: Pricing page (2026-10-15)
  • AI relevance on a self-serve planGrow Plus adds AI Ranking, AI Synonyms, Advanced Personalization and Query Categorization without a contract, at $1.75 per 1,000 requests above 10,000.Evidence: Pricing page (2026-10-15)
  • SOC 2 and ISO 27001The trust center lists a SOC 2 Type 2 report, and the security measures page says Algolia holds ISO 27001 and ISO 27017 certifications.Evidence: Trust center and security measures page (2026-10-15)
Best for
Teams that want hosted search with nothing to size, and moderate search volumes or a free start.
Good to know
Every search request is billed, including each keystroke sent in search-as-you-type, and NeuralSearch and SSO need an annual Elevate contract.

How Algolia compares

Against 3 other products we reviewed in Search APIs: what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.

Algolia compared with Elastic Cloud, Amazon OpenSearch Service, Typesense Cloud
MetricAlgoliaElastic CloudAmazon OpenSearch ServiceTypesense Cloud
What you're paying forSaves engineering timeHosted search with no cluster to size: pay per search request and record, starting from a permanent free plan.Saves engineering timeManaged Elasticsearch with vector, semantic and hybrid search from $0.0282 an hour, with SOC 2, ISO 27001 and a HIPAA BAA on every tier.Compliance includedManaged OpenSearch in your AWS account from $0.036 an hour, with searches unbilled and AWS SOC reports and a HIPAA BAA self-serve.Worth the priceA dedicated, managed cluster of open-source search from $21.60 a month, with no per-search or per-record charges.
Overall score5.88.0Best7.77.6
Free optionFree plan14-day free trialFree trialFree trial
Card to startNo card neededNo card needed–Not measured–Not measured
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$0.50/1k searches$0.0282/hour$0.036/hour$21.60/mo
Pricing modelUsage-basedUsage-basedUsage-basedUsage-based
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic pricesPublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitsSearch requests and recordsRAM-hours, data transfer and snapshot storage (Hosted); compute units and storage (Serverless)Instance hours, EBS storage and data transfer; or compute units and storage (Serverless)Cluster hours (RAM and vCPU) and outbound bandwidth
Free optionFree plan: 10,000 searches and 50,000 records/mo, no card14-day trial, no cardAWS Free Tier credits for new accounts, not specific to OpenSearch720 cluster hours and 10 GB once per account
100,000 records, 500,000 searches/mo$245 (Grow, listed rates)$20.59 (Hosted, 1 GB, one zone); $41.17 in two zones$27.50 (t3.small.search, one node)$21.60 (0.5 GB, one node); $64.80 with high availability
Vector or hybrid searchNeuralSearch on Elevate (annual contract)Every level; semantic models and reranking on Serverless and higher Hosted levelsEvery domain (k-NN, neural and hybrid search)Every cluster
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001BothBothBoth (AWS reports in AWS Artifact)SOC 2 Type II (report with Business support)
HIPAA BAANot statedEvery subscription tierSelf-serve in AWS ArtifactWith the Business support plan ($400 per 28 days)
EU hostingYes, EU West and UK on every planYes, incl. Frankfurt and Ireland on AWS, Azure and GCPYes, AWS EU Regions incl. Frankfurt, Ireland and ParisYes, 6 EU locations incl. Frankfurt and Paris, same price as the US
SAML SSOElevate (annual contract)Serverless, no extra cost; Hosted on EnterpriseIAM Identity Center at no extra charge; SAML for OpenSearch DashboardsEvery account, no extra charge
Open-source engineNoYes, AGPLv3 option (also SSPL and Elastic License)Yes, OpenSearch (Apache 2.0)Yes, GPL-3.0
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Algolia is the simplest to price for small volumes and the only one here with a permanent free plan. Per-request billing makes it the most expensive at our 500,000-search scenario.From its public pages, Elastic Cloud offers the most AI search and compliance here on self-serve terms and the lowest Hosted price at our scenario. Pricing has more settings than the others, and SSO and some AI features depend on the Hosted level or on using Serverless.From its public pages, Amazon OpenSearch Service includes compliance, SSO and an Apache 2.0 engine on self-serve terms, and searches are not billed on a domain. You size the domain yourself, and the bill has more lines than a cluster price.From its public pages, Typesense Cloud is the cheapest here at our scenario and includes the most on a self-serve plan: vector search, SAML SSO and an open-source engine. You size the cluster, and compliance documents need a support plan.

Evidence: Algolia: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Elastic Cloud: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Amazon OpenSearch Service: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Typesense Cloud: facts checked 2026-10-15 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

Score

Score breakdown
Pricing clarity
8.0 / 10, Excellent
billed by search requests and records
Free tier
9.0 / 10, Excellent
10,000 search requests and 50,000 records a month, permanent, no card needed
Price for 100,000 records and 500,000 searches
3.6 / 10, Fair
$245/mo: Grow: 490 × $0.50 per 1,000 search requests above the 10,000 included; 100,000 records included (listed rates); assumes each search is one billed request (the docs count every keystroke sent as one request)
AI and vector search on self-serve plans
3.0 / 10, Fair
vector and hybrid search on enterprise only; AI relevance features on a self-serve plan
Compliance and data residency
8.0 / 10, Excellent
own SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, no HIPAA BAA stated, EU hosting region
Team, control and portability
3.0 / 10, Fair
SAML SSO on enterprise only; engine not open source; record export documented

Review

Review from public pages

Written from Algolia's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 15, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.

What the public pages show

We read Algolia's pricing page, security measures page, trust center and documentation on Oct 15, 2026; we did not sign up for this review. The pricing page shows four plans. Free covers 10,000 search requests and 50,000 records a month with no card. Grow and Grow Plus start at $0 a month, include 10,000 requests and 100,000 records, and then charge per 1,000: $0.50 (Grow) or $1.75 (Grow Plus) per 1,000 requests and $0.40 per 1,000 records, billed monthly with no contract. Elevate is custom-priced on an annual contract.

The main thing to know is how requests are counted. Algolia's guide to search request usage says each keystroke sent to an index counts as one search request, so an as-you-type search box sends several billed requests per search unless you debounce it.

The feature grid places NeuralSearch, which combines semantic and keyword search, and SSO on Elevate. Free, Grow and Grow Plus can be hosted in the US, the UK or EU West. The trust center lists a SOC 2 Type 2 report, and the security measures page says Algolia was certified to ISO 27001 and ISO 27017 in March 2020. We found no statement about a HIPAA BAA.

Strengths

  • No capacity planning

    The bill follows search requests and records; there is no RAM, vCPU or instance size to estimate.

    vs Meilisearch Cloud: Typesense Cloud and resource-based Meilisearch Cloud price by the cluster or instance size you choose.

  • The only permanent free plan here

    10,000 search requests and 50,000 records a month, with no credit card.

    vs Meilisearch Cloud: Typesense Cloud gives 720 free cluster hours once; Meilisearch Cloud gives a 14-day trial.

  • AI relevance without a contract

    Grow Plus includes AI Ranking, AI Synonyms, Advanced Personalization and Query Categorization, billed monthly.

  • ISO 27001 as well as SOC 2

    Algolia lists SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001 and ISO 27017.

    vs Meilisearch Cloud: Typesense Cloud and Meilisearch Cloud list SOC 2 Type II but not ISO 27001.

Things to know

  • Every keystroke can be a billed request

    The docs count each keystroke sent to an index as one search request, so as-you-type search multiplies billed requests.

    Workaround: The docs recommend debouncing and grouping queries to reduce request counts.

  • Cost grows with search volume

    At 500,000 searches a month, Grow comes to $245 and Grow Plus to $857.50 at the listed rates.

    Workaround: The pricing page suggests talking to sales about volume discounts on an annual contract.

  • Semantic search and SSO need Elevate

    NeuralSearch, SSO and the enhanced SLA are listed on Elevate, which requires an annual contract and custom pricing.

  • No HIPAA BAA stated

    The pricing, security and trust pages we read do not mention a HIPAA BAA.

Pricing reality

Algolia bills two units: search requests and records. Grow includes 10,000 requests and 100,000 records a month, then charges $0.50 per 1,000 requests and $0.40 per 1,000 records; Grow Plus charges $1.75 per 1,000 requests for its AI features. Both are billed monthly with no contract.

For 100,000 records and 500,000 searches a month, Grow comes to (500,000 − 10,000) / 1,000 × $0.50 = $245 (our arithmetic), with the records included. That assumes each search is one request; search-as-you-type sends one per keystroke unless debounced. Recommendations ($0.60 per 1,000 above 10,000) and crawls ($0.80 per 1,000 above 10,000) are billed separately, and paid support plans are an add-on.

Exit path

The docs describe exporting records through the API browse endpoint or the Algolia CLI (`algolia objects browse`); the dashboard exports index settings, synonyms and rules, not records.

Compared with

Choose it if

  • You want hosted search with no cluster or instance size to plan.
  • Your search volume fits the free plan or stays moderate.
  • You want AI ranking and personalization on a monthly plan.

Look elsewhere if

  • You expect hundreds of thousands of searches a month on a small budget.
  • You need semantic or hybrid search or SSO without an annual contract.

Bottom line

From its public pages, Algolia is the simplest to price for small volumes and the only one here with a permanent free plan. Per-request billing makes it the most expensive at our 500,000-search scenario.

Plan limits at a glance

LimitAs recorded
Billing unitsSearch requests and records
Free optionFree plan: 10,000 searches and 50,000 records/mo, no card
100,000 records, 500,000 searches/mo$245 (Grow, listed rates)
Vector or hybrid searchNeuralSearch on Elevate (annual contract)
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001Both
HIPAA BAANot stated
EU hostingYes, EU West and UK on every plan
SAML SSOElevate (annual contract)
Open-source engineNo

Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 15, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check

Algolia lists 4 plans. The cheapest paid plan, Grow, costs $0.50/1k searches.

  • AlgoliaFree
    Free
    $0/mo
    10,000 search requests and 50,000 records/mo
    • No credit card required
    • 5,000 recommendation requests and 5,000 crawls/mo
    • 7-day analytics retention
    • US, UK and EU West hosting
  • Algolia
    Grow
    $0.50/1k searches
    10,000 search requests and 100,000 records included; then $0.50 per 1,000 requests and $0.40 per 1,000 records
    • Billed monthly, no contract
    • Keyword search, query suggestions, manual synonyms
    • Rules: 10 per index
    • 30-day analytics retention
  • Algolia
    Grow Plus
    $1.75/1k searches
    10,000 search requests and 100,000 records included; then $1.75 per 1,000 requests and $0.40 per 1,000 records
    • AI Ranking, AI Synonyms, Advanced Personalization
    • Query Categorization and Collections
    • Rules: 10,000 per index
    • 90-day analytics retention
  • Algolia
    Elevate
    Contact sales
    • Annual contract, volume-based pricing
    • NeuralSearch (semantic plus keyword)
    • SSO and enhanced SLA, 99.99% availability
    • Enterprise support plans

Prices as listed, USD, excluding tax; observed 2026-10-15.

Source: algolia.com pricing page. Prices change; the observed date above is when our agent read them.

Visit site