Vector databases · Comparison

Qdrant Cloud vs turbopuffer

2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.

Side by side

Qdrant Cloud vs turbopuffer: value, access facts, plan limits and bottom lines
MetricQdrant Cloudturbopuffer
What you're paying forWorth the priceA managed open-source vector engine on nodes you size, with no per-query charge, an exit to self-hosted Qdrant and a free cluster for about 1M vectors.Worth the priceVector and full-text search billed by the bytes you store, write and query, with every database feature on the $16 plan.
Overall score7.0Best5.6
Free optionFree planPaid only
Card to startNo card needed–Not measured
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$0.03566/node-hour$16/mo minimum
Pricing modelUsage-basedUsage-based
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitProvisioned nodes per hour (RAM, vCPU and disk), plus backup storageGB stored, GB written, PB queried and GB returned
Free optionFree 1 GB cluster (about 1M 768-dimension vectors), no cardNone; refund if cancelled within 30 days (sign-up page)
Reference scenario (1M vectors, 1M queries)$102.51/mo on Standard (3 × mx1 nodes), official calculator$30/mo on launch, computed
Plan minimumNone on Standard; Premium minimum not publishedlaunch $16; scale $256; enterprise from $4,096 a month
Hybrid searchEvery plan (dense plus sparse or BM25)Every plan (BM25 plus vector, rank fusion)
BackupsStandard and up, scheduled; collection snapshots on every planManual namespace copies and branches; no automated backups
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001 not statedSOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001 not stated
HIPAA BAAFrom Standard; BAA scope through Solutions Engineeringscale and enterprise
EU regionsAWS Frankfurt and Ireland, GCP Frankfurt, Azure Germany West CentralAWS Frankfurt, Ireland and London; GCP Frankfurt and Belgium
SSOPremium (console sign-in)scale and enterprise, enabled on request
BYOCHybrid Cloud and Private Cloud, through salesenterprise
Data exportDownloadable snapshots; scroll APIPaged query API (JSON)
Self-host pathQdrant open source (Apache 2.0), restore from snapshotNone
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Qdrant Cloud is managed open-source Qdrant billed by node-hour: no per-query charge, a large free cluster and a documented way back to self-hosting. Prices live in the calculator, and SSO and private networking need Premium.From its public pages, turbopuffer is the lowest-cost option for our scenario, with every database feature from a $16 minimum. It has no free tier, no automated backups and no open-source engine, and some pricing details differ between pages.

Evidence: Qdrant Cloud: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; turbopuffer: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

When to pick each

In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.

  • From our turbopuffer review

    Checked Oct 16, 2026
    Pick turbopuffer when
    You want to pay for bytes rather than size nodes, with unlimited namespaces.
    Pick Qdrant Cloud when
    You want a free cluster, an Apache 2.0 engine to self-host and downloadable snapshots.

Entry price

Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.

  • Qdrant Cloud
    Standard
    $0.03566/node-hour
    Smallest node (2 GiB RAM, 0.5 vCPU, 8 GiB disk) in AWS us-east-1, about $26.10 a month; billed hourly, no minimum
    • Nodes up to 256 GiB RAM and 64 vCPU
    • Scheduled backups and high-availability setups
    • Audit logs on Qdrant 1.17 and later
    • AWS, GCP and Azure regions, EU included
  • turbopuffer
    launch
    $16/mo minimum
    Usage above the minimum: $0.33/GB stored, $2/GB written, $1/PB queried, $0.05/GB returned
    • All database features: vector, BM25 full-text and hybrid search
    • Unlimited namespaces
    • SOC 2 report and GDPR-ready DPA
    • Community Slack and email support

Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Qdrant Cloud 2026-10-16, turbopuffer 2026-10-16.

Which one fits

If you need to start today without a sales call
Qdrant CloudSelf-serve sign-up, no card needed; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (7.0/10).
If you want to try it without entering a card
Qdrant CloudFree plan, no card needed; scored 7.0/10.
Lowest starter price
turbopuffer$16/mo minimum for the launch plan. Qdrant Cloud lists no comparable paid price.
Highest overall score
Qdrant Cloud7.0/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.

Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score

Full reviews

More in Vector databases

Add a product

Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.