Bundled virtual servers billed per second up to a 672-hour monthly cap, from $4 a month, with pooled transfer, IPv4 included and backups from 20% of the server price.
A 2 vCPU, 4 GiB server with 4,000 GiB of pooled transfer and a public IPv4 address for $24 a month, billed per second and capped at 672 hours.
DigitalOcean bundles vCPU, memory, SSD, transfer and an IPv4 address into one monthly price, billed per second and capped at 672 hours, so a month never costs more than the listed price. Transfer allowances add up across the team, overage is $0.01 per GiB and inbound is free. Backups are a flat share of the server price (20% weekly, 30% daily), and firewalls, VPC networking, monitoring alerts and DDoS protection come at no extra charge. It suits developers who want simple, predictable bills.
Bundled price with a monthly capBundled Droplets are billed per second with a 60-second minimum and capped at 672 hours a month; the 2 vCPU, 4 GiB, 80 GiB plan is $24 with 4,000 GiB of transfer and a public IPv4 address included.Evidence: Droplet pricing page and pricing docs (2026-10-16)
Transfer pooled across the teamAllowances are pooled across all Droplets on a team, extra outbound transfer is $0.01 per GiB with no regional variation, and inbound transfer is free.Evidence: Droplet pricing docs and bandwidth billing docs (2026-10-16)
Networking extras at no chargeCloud Firewalls, VPC traffic, monitoring with CPU, memory, disk and bandwidth alerts, and layer 3 and 4 DDoS protection are listed at no additional cost.Evidence: Firewall, VPC, monitoring and DDoS protection docs (2026-10-16)
SOC 2 Type II and team SSOThe trust pages list a SOC 2 Type II report by Schellman, the DPA is part of the terms, and teams can require OIDC single sign-on at no extra cost.Evidence: Trust certification page, DPA and SSO docs (2026-10-16)
Best for
Developers and small teams who want a predictable monthly bill for a few servers, with transfer that adds up across them.
Good to know
Backups and snapshots cannot be downloaded; moving off means copying data out of the server or through the recovery console.
How DigitalOcean Droplets compares
Against 3 other products we reviewed in Cloud servers (VPS): what you pay for with each, the five access facts, the plan limits we recorded and each review's bottom line. The note under the table says how each one was checked.
Worth the priceA 2 vCPU, 4 GiB server with 4,000 GiB of pooled transfer and a public IPv4 address for $24 a month, billed per second and capped at 672 hours.
Worth the priceA 2 vCPU, 4 GB Linode for $24 a month with 4 TB of pooled transfer, overage at $0.005 per GB and ISO 27001 coverage for compute.
Worth the priceA 2 vCPU, 4 GB, 80 GB server for $20 a month with 3 TB of pooled transfer, backed by Vultr's own SOC 2 Type II report and ISO 27001.
Easy to adoptA fixed-price AWS server: 2 vCPUs, 4 GB, 80 GB SSD, 4 TB of transfer and an IPv4 address for $24 a month, with a path to Amazon EC2.
No backup download; raw .img image upload up to 6 GB
No snapshot download; ISO and raw image import from a URL
Snapshot export to Amazon EC2 only; no download or import
SOC 2 / ISO 27001
SOC 2 Type II; own ISO 27001 not stated
SOC 2 Type 1 for compute; ISO 27001:2022 covers compute
SOC 2 Type II (with HIPAA) in the console; ISO 27001:2022
Lightsail not listed in AWS SOC or ISO scope
HIPAA BAA
Through sales or support
On request; compute listed in HIPAA scope
By contract, after an architecture review
Lightsail not on the HIPAA eligible services list
EU regions
Amsterdam, Frankfurt (London in the UK)
Frankfurt, Amsterdam, Paris, Milan, Madrid, Stockholm
Amsterdam, Frankfurt, Paris, Madrid, Stockholm, Warsaw, Milan
Frankfurt, Ireland, Paris, Stockholm, Spain (opt-in)
Spend cap
Spend alerts only
None; transfer emails at 80, 90 and 100%
None self-serve; bandwidth usage emails
AWS Budgets alerts; project spend limits that pause resources only in AWS's new sign-up experience, which is in limited release
Bottom line
From its public pages, DigitalOcean is a predictable choice for small servers: IPv4 included, a monthly cap, pooled transfer at $0.01 per GiB and backups at a flat share of the price. Images cannot be downloaded, and new accounts start with limits.
From its public pages, Akamai Cloud keeps Linode's clear plan list and adds low-cost pooled transfer ($0.005 per GB over the allowance), ISO 27001 for compute and free support. Compute has a SOC 2 Type 1 report, and G8 plans are billed without a cap.
From its public pages, Vultr has the lowest list price for the reference server and a broad compliance file with free SSO. Some regional prices are missing from the pricing page, and several pages disagree on details such as DDoS protection.
From its public pages, Lightsail is a simple way to a fixed-price AWS server, with snapshots billed by storage and an export path to EC2. It is not on AWS's compliance scope lists, and transfer beyond the allowance costs $0.09 per GB.
Evidence: DigitalOcean Droplets: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Akamai Cloud (Linode): facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Vultr Cloud Compute: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Amazon Lightsail: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.
scenario plan priced in USD; hourly rule and monthly cap stated; US transfer overage published; IPv4 charge stated; v5 Droplets list public IPv4 at an introductory $0.00 an hour that is "subject to change"; the pricing docs bill per second with a 60-second minimum, while the bandwidth docs round to the nearest minute; the plan guide starts Basic at 1 GB and Memory-Optimized at 8 GB, while the price list has a 512 MiB plan and starts Memory-Optimized at 16 GiB; the PayPal prepayment amount is not stated
Free credit and trial
4.0 / 10, Fair
$5 sign-up credit, valid 90 days; card or prepayment needed; converts to paid billing when it ends; no promo code or link needed
Price of the reference server
7.2 / 10, Good
$28.80/mo: Basic Regular 2 vCPU / 4 GiB / 80 GiB $24; IPv4 included; backups $4.80; no transfer overage; weekly backups at 20% of the Droplet price; 4,000 GiB of transfer included
Transfer terms
9.0 / 10, Excellent
$0.01/GB over the allowance in the US; 4 TB included on the scenario plan; pooled across servers; inbound free; overage billed, server not cut off
Backups, cost control and exit
6.0 / 10, Good
automatic backups priced, daily available; snapshot or image storage $0.06/GB-month; image import, no download; spend alerts, no hard cap; no retention period after closing stated in days
Compliance and account security
7.5 / 10, Good
own SOC 2 Type II, no ISO 27001 for the product, HIPAA BAA through sales or support, self-serve DPA, EU region, 2FA, self-serve SSO, audit log
Review
Review from public pages
Written from DigitalOcean Droplets's public pages (pricing, security or privacy, and docs) as read on Oct 16, 2026. We did not sign up, and no hands-on run is published yet.
What the public pages show
We read DigitalOcean's Droplet pricing page (including the plan data embedded in it for the Premium CPU tabs), the Droplet, backup, snapshot, custom image, reserved IP, bandwidth and pricing docs, the sign-up credit, spend alert, late payment, resource limit and team docs, the trust, HIPAA and GDPR pages, the DPA and the terms of service on Oct 16, 2026; we did not sign up, create a Droplet or call the API for this review. All prices are listed in US dollars, with one price per plan for every region.
The pricing model is easy to follow. Bundled Droplets are billed per second with a minimum of 60 seconds or $0.01 and capped at 672 hours a month, so the listed monthly price is the most a server costs. Powered-off Droplets are billed until they are destroyed. A new team starts at Tier 1: up to 3 Droplets on Basic plans of up to $48 a month; dedicated-CPU plans need Tier 2, reached with a $50 prepayment, payment history or a request in the console.
A few points need a question. The newer v5 Droplets (US only) have no 672-hour cap and list public IPv4 at an introductory $0.00 an hour that is subject to change. The pricing docs bill per second, while the bandwidth docs say seconds are rounded to the nearest minute. And the plan guide describes sizes that differ from the price list, such as Memory-Optimized from 8 GB where the price list starts at 16 GiB.
Strengths
IPv4 included and a capped monthly price
Bundled plans include a public IPv4 address, and billing stops at 672 hours, so the $24 plan never costs more than $24 a month before add-ons.
Compared: Hetzner Cloud charges $0.60 a month for each primary IPv4 address on top of the server price.
Pooled transfer at $0.01 per GiB
Allowances add up across every Droplet on the team, overage is $0.01 per GiB with no regional variation, and inbound transfer is free.
vs Amazon Lightsail: Amazon Lightsail charges $0.09 per GB over the allowance in US regions and pools only instances of the same plan in a region.
Flexible backup schedules
Weekly backups cost 20% of the Droplet price and daily 30%; usage-based backups run as often as every 4 hours at $0.01 to $0.04 per GiB-month, kept from 3 days to 6 months.
SOC 2 Type II and team SSO
The trust pages list a SOC 2 Type II report, teams can enforce OIDC single sign-on, and Security History records each action with the user and IP address.
Compared: Hetzner Cloud states no SOC 2 report and no single sign-on.
Things to know
Backups and snapshots cannot be downloaded
The docs say backups and snapshots cannot be downloaded; they can be copied to other regions or transferred to another DigitalOcean team.
Workaround: The Recovery ISO and console let you mount the disk and copy data off with scp or SFTP.
New accounts start with limits
Tier 1 allows 3 Droplets on Basic plans up to $48 a month; dedicated CPU needs Tier 2, reached with a $50 prepayment, payment history or a request.
Workaround: The resource limits docs list each tier and how to request an increase from the console.
HIPAA BAA through sales
Droplets are HIPAA eligible, but new customers request the BAA from sales and existing customers from support; there is no online acceptance.
No hard spending cap
Spend alerts warn at a budget but do not limit usage, and the late-payment docs give no fixed timeline before resources are deleted.
Pricing reality
Droplets are priced per bundle and billed per second up to a 672-hour cap. For our scenario, the Basic Regular plan with 2 vCPUs, 4 GiB and 80 GiB costs $24 a month with 4,000 GiB of transfer and a public IPv4 address, and weekly backups add 20% ($4.80), so $28.80 a month (computed); daily backups would make it $31.20. The 2 TB of transfer fits in the allowance; beyond it, outbound costs $0.01 per GiB. Premium CPU versions of the same size cost $28, and dedicated CPU starts at $42 (CPU-Optimized, 25 GiB disk). Snapshots are $0.06 per GB-month, volumes $0.10 per GiB-month and an unassigned reserved IPv4 $5 a month. Paid support plans run from $24 to $999 a month per team.
Exit path
Backups and snapshots cannot be downloaded; they can only be copied to another region or transferred to another DigitalOcean team. To leave, boot the Recovery ISO, mount the disk and copy files off with scp or SFTP, or copy data from the running server. Custom images can be imported (raw, qcow2, VHDX, VDI, VMDK), but no export is described. The late-payment docs publish no fixed timeline before resources are deleted.
You want transfer overage at $0.01 per GiB pooled across all servers, and a HIPAA BAA path.
Pick Amazon Lightsail when
You want up to $200 in AWS credits and snapshots you can export to Amazon EC2.
Choose it if
You want a fixed monthly price per server with IPv4 included and per-second billing.
You run several servers and want their transfer allowances pooled.
Your security review asks for a SOC 2 Type II report and SSO for the team.
Look elsewhere if
You need to download server images or backups to move them elsewhere.
You need dedicated vCPUs on a brand-new account without a prepayment.
You need an ISO 27001 certificate from the vendor itself.
Bottom line
From its public pages, DigitalOcean is a predictable choice for small servers: IPv4 included, a monthly cap, pooled transfer at $0.01 per GiB and backups at a flat share of the price. Images cannot be downloaded, and new accounts start with limits.
Read from the vendor's public pages on Oct 16, 2026. No hands-on run is published yet. How we check
We have not published a sign-up run for DigitalOcean Droplets yet. The access facts above were read from its sign-up and pricing pages on Oct 16, 2026.
We have not published API calls for DigitalOcean Droplets yet.
We read the pricing, billing, transfer, backup, trust and legal pages of three developer clouds on the same day and scored them on the same six indicators. What a 2 vCPU, 4 GB server with backups costs, how transfer is billed, how you leave, and who should pick which.