Zero-trust access and business VPN · Comparison

Tailscale vs Twingate

2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.

Side by side

Tailscale vs Twingate: value, access facts, plan limits and bottom lines
MetricTailscaleTwingate
What you're paying forSaves engineering timeA private WireGuard network for every laptop, phone and server, reached through your identity provider and one policy file instead of a VPN gateway.Worth the priceResource-by-resource access to private networks through connectors you run, with Google Workspace sign-in and posture checks from $5 per user.
Overall score6.87.3Best
Free optionFree planFree plan
Card to start–Not measured–Not measured
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$8/user/mo$5/user/mo
Pricing modelPer seatPer seat
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitPer user per month; user devices unlimited; 50 tagged resources included, then $1/mo eachPer user per month, counting admins, pending and disabled users and service accounts
Free optionPersonal: free for up to 6 users, non-commercial only; 14-day Enterprise trial for company domainsStarter: free for 5 users; 14-day trial of paid plans
Reference scenario (25 users)$200/mo on Standard ($8 × 25), $8 per user, computed$125/mo on Teams ($5 × 25, yearly), $5 per user, computed
Annual vs monthly priceOne price per plan with no billing term; annual plans through salesTeams $5 yearly or $6 monthly; Business $10 or $12
Devices per userUnlimited on every plan5 on every plan; custom on Enterprise
Okta / Entra ID sign-inEvery plan (OIDC)Business and up; Google Workspace on every plan
SCIMStandard and up (Okta, Entra ID, Google Workspace)Business and up (Okta SCIM)
Device postureBuilt-in checks on every plan; MDM and EDR integrations from StandardNative checks on every plan; MDM and EDR integrations from Business
Network flow logsPremium and up, 30 daysEvery plan; 24 hours Starter, 7 days Teams, 30 days Business
SIEM streamingPremium and upBusiness and up per the docs; the plan table also ticks Home
Self-hosted partsDERP relays and peer relaysConnectors (always customer-run)
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type II (on request); ISO 27001 not statedSOC 2 Type 2 (trust portal, on request); ISO 27001 not stated
HIPAA BAANot offeredNot stated; the HIPAA page says to ask by email
EU data storageNot guaranteed; coordination server in FrankfurtNo; data stored in the US
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Tailscale gives a team identity-aware access to every device and server from the first plan, with unlimited user devices and policy as code. Flow logs and SIEM streaming start on Premium, and there is no BAA or EU residency guarantee.From its public pages, Twingate offers per-resource access through your own connectors at $5 per user on Teams, with posture checks and an audit log. Enterprise identity providers, SCIM and longer logs start on Business, and data is stored in the US.

Evidence: Tailscale: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Twingate: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

When to pick each

In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.

  • From our Tailscale review

    Checked Oct 16, 2026
    Pick Tailscale when
    You sign in with Okta or Entra ID and want SCIM and MDM posture at $8 per user rather than on a $10 Business plan.
    Pick Twingate when
    You sign in with Google Workspace and want a lower yearly price ($5 per user on Teams) with connectors you run in each network.
  • From our Twingate review

    Checked Oct 16, 2026
    Pick Twingate when
    You sign in with Google Workspace and want the lowest yearly per-user price, with connectors you run in each network.
    Pick Tailscale when
    You sign in with Okta or Entra ID and want SCIM and MDM posture at $8 per user, with unlimited devices per user.

Entry price

Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.

  • Tailscale
    Standard
    $8/user/mo
    One price published, no billing term; annual plans through sales
    • Unlimited users, up to 10 ACL groups
    • SCIM user and group provisioning
    • Posture integrations: CrowdStrike, SentinelOne, Intune, Jamf and more
    • 50 tagged resources, then $1 a month each
  • Twingate
    Home
    $15/mo
    Flat price for the account, billed monthly; up to 7 users; non-commercial use only
    • Exit Networks (self-hosted)
    • Just-in-time access requests
    • Logs kept 30 days
    • 100 Resources, 20 Remote Networks

Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Tailscale 2026-10-16, Twingate 2026-10-16.

Which one fits

If you need to start today without a sales call
TwingateSelf-serve sign-up; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (7.3/10).
Lowest starter price
Twingate$5/user/mo for the Teams (billed yearly) plan.
Highest overall score
Twingate7.3/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.

Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score

Full reviews

More in Zero-trust access and business VPN

Add a product

Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.