QuickBooks Online7.5/10Xero7.1/10Zoho Books8.2/10

Small business accounting software · Comparison

QuickBooks Online vs Xero vs Zoho Books: Zoho Books 8.2, QuickBooks 7.5, Xero 7.1; 3 users cost $50 to $85

We read the pricing, payments, payroll, security, help center and developer pages of three accounting suites on the same day and scored them on the same six indicators. What 3 users with invoices, bills and bank feeds cost, where multi-currency, inventory and roles sit, and who should pick which.

On this page9 sections

On six indicators read from each vendor's public pages, Zoho Books scores 8.2 out of 10, QuickBooks Online 7.5 and Xero 7.1. For our reference scenario, 3 users sending 30 invoices and entering 20 bills a month with bank feeds, billed monthly at list price, Zoho Books Professional comes to $50 a month, Xero Growing to $59 and QuickBooks Online Essentials to $85. Zoho Books stands out for features per dollar and its compliance file; QuickBooks Online for payments, payroll and bill pay from Intuit and a free plan; Xero for pricing with no per-user fees and inventory and purchase orders on every plan.

Zoho Books is in the Excellent band and the other two in the Good band. The scores measure what the public pages commit to, not how well each product works or how quickly books close, and we did not sign up for any of them.

At a glance

QuickBooks Online Xero Zoho Books
What you pay for Books with Intuit payments, payroll and bill pay Books priced per business, no per-user fees Bills, multi-currency, inventory and projects on a $50 plan
Free option Free plan (1 user, 2 invoices a month); 30-day trial One month free, billing details taken Free plan under $50K revenue; 14-day trial
Reference scenario (3 users, monthly) $85 on Essentials, computed $59 on Growing, computed $50 on Professional, computed
Users 1 / 3 / 5 / 25 by plan No per-user fees 3 / 5 / 10 / 15 by plan; $3 per extra user
Multi-currency Essentials ($85) Established ($97) Professional ($50)
Inventory and projects Plus ($140) Inventory every plan; projects on Established Professional ($50)
Bank payment fee 1% 1%, capped at $9 (ACH debit) 0.8%, capped at $5
SOC 2 Type II / ISO 27001 Both, on the Intuit Trust Center Both Both, for Zoho cloud services
Score (public pages) 7.5 Good 7.1 Good 8.2 Excellent

What the public pages show

QuickBooks Online sells tiers that differ by users and features: Free, Simple Start ($38, 1 user), Essentials ($85, 3 users), Plus ($140, 5 users) and Advanced ($340, 25 users), each paid plan with free accountant access. Multicurrency starts on Essentials; inventory, projects, purchase orders and budgets on Plus. Intuit sells card and bank payments, bill pay and payroll bundles that work inside it.

Xero sells three plans with no per-user license fees: Early ($27; 20 invoices and 5 bills a month), Growing ($59) and Established ($97, with multiple currencies and projects). Inventory, purchase orders and bank connections are in every plan, payroll is powered by Gusto and online payments run through Stripe.

Zoho Books runs from a free plan to Ultimate. Standard ($20) has 3 users and bank feeds but no bills; Professional ($50, 5 users) adds bills, purchase orders, multi-currency, stock tracking, project profitability and custom roles. Every plan has an activity log.

Strengths and things to know

QuickBooks Online. Strengths: payments, payroll and bill pay from the same vendor; a free plan with a bank connection; multicurrency on the 3-user plan; growth to 25 users and custom roles on Advanced; read-only access for a year after cancelling. Things to know: users come with the tier, so a fourth user means Plus; inventory and projects start at $140; the bill pay ACH allotment per plan is not stated, and one older page places bill management on Essentials while the pricing page lists bill pay on Simple Start.

Xero. Strengths: no per-user fees; inventory and purchase orders on every plan; ACH debit capped at $9; its own SOC 2 Type II report and ISO 27001. Things to know: Early limits invoices and bills; multiple currencies and projects need Established; the one month free takes billing details; the pricing page lists Inventory Plus without its $39 price, and the Growing page and the pricing table describe the forecast differently.

Zoho Books. Strengths: the widest feature set on a $50 plan; SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001; an activity log, recurring invoices and reminders on every plan; ACH fees capped at $5. Things to know: bills start on Professional, not Standard; the free plan is for businesses under $50K revenue and has no bills or bank feeds; budgets need Premium; and the pricing page and comparison disagree on whether the Free plan has API access.

Pricing reality

Reference scenario: 3 users who sign in (an owner and 2 staff; free accountant access not counted), sending 30 invoices and entering 20 bills a month with bank transactions imported automatically, on the cheapest plan that covers it, billed monthly, at US list prices before tax, without promotional discounts, payroll or payment fees.

Service Plan Monthly cost Where the number comes from
Zoho Books Professional $50 Computed: list price; Standard ($20) has 3 users but no bills
Xero Growing $59 Computed: list price, no per-user fees; Early ($27) allows 20 invoices and 5 bills
QuickBooks Online Essentials $85 Computed: list price; Simple Start ($38) allows 1 user

Billed yearly, Zoho Books Professional drops to $40 a month; Xero and QuickBooks Online list monthly prices only. Two of the three pricing pages showed introductory offers on Oct 16, 2026: QuickBooks Online 50% off for 3 months ($42.50 for Essentials) and Xero 80% off for 3 months for new US customers ($11.80 for Growing). After the offers, the list prices above apply.

The plan you grow into moves the number more than the entry price. A fourth user costs nothing extra on Xero, $3 a month on Zoho Books, and on QuickBooks Online means Plus at $140. Inventory and project profitability cost $50 on Zoho Books (Professional), $140 on QuickBooks Online (Plus), and on Xero inventory comes with Growing while projects need Established at $97.

How we scored them

Every product in this category is scored on the same six indicators, read from the vendor's own pricing, payments, payroll, security, help center and developer pages, with fixed formulas. The overall score is the plain mean. Our methodology page explains how these scores work.

Indicator QuickBooks Online Xero Zoho Books
Pricing clarity 8 8 9
Free plan and trial 6.5 2 5
Price for 3 users 4.5 5.5 5.9
Bookkeeping depth 6.8 8.4 9.4
Getting paid and payroll 9.5 10 10
Security, access and data export 9.4 8.5 10
Overall 7.5 7.1 8.2

Pricing clarity loses a point for each price a page leaves out or each pair of pages that disagree: two each for QuickBooks Online and Xero, one for Zoho Books. QuickBooks Online and Zoho Books have permanent free plans, Zoho's limited by revenue; Xero offers a free month only. Zoho Books leads on bookkeeping depth because multi-currency, inventory, projects and purchase orders are all on the scenario plan, and on security because custom roles and an activity log come with it.

Also in this category

Wave scores 6.7: the lowest price for the scenario at $19 a month on Pro, and a free plan with unlimited invoices and bills, while inventory, projects and purchase orders are not listed and the pages state no SOC 2 or ISO 27001. FreshBooks scores 6.1: invoicing-first accounting for client work with project profitability on Premium; the scenario costs $92 a month because bills start on Premium and each team member is $11.

Who should choose which

  • Choose Zoho Books if you want bills, multi-currency, inventory, projects and custom roles on one $50 plan, with SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001. Look elsewhere if you enter vendor bills and want to stay on a $20 plan.
  • Choose QuickBooks Online if you want payments, payroll and bill pay from the same vendor, a free starting plan, and room to grow to 25 users. Look elsewhere if you need more than 3 users or inventory below $140 a month.
  • Choose Xero if you want to add staff and advisors without per-user charges and need inventory and purchase orders from the start. Look elsewhere if you need multiple currencies or project costing below $97 a month.

Bottom line

From public pages alone, Zoho Books leads at 8.2, with the most features and controls on its $50 Professional plan. QuickBooks Online (7.5) brings Intuit's payments, payroll and bill pay and a plan ladder to 25 users, and Xero (7.1) prices per business with no user fees. For all three, compare the plan that has the users, bills and features you need, not the entry price.

How we checked

We read the vendors' pricing pages and plan comparisons, payments and payroll pricing, trust, security and compliance pages, legal terms, help center articles and developer docs on Oct 16, 2026. quickbooks.intuit.com did not respond to our server, so we read it through a web fetch service and compared its pricing page with the Internet Archive copy of Oct 13, 2026. We did not sign up, start a trial or call an API. Facts the pages did not state, such as whether QuickBooks' trial needs a card, are left out rather than guessed. Every figure is on the vendors' pages as of that date or, where marked, computed from them.

Products in this post

Compare 3 side by side
  • QuickBooks Online

    Small business accounting software

    What you're paying for: Built-in reach

    Full small business books with payments, payroll and bill pay from one vendor, and a plan ladder from a free tier to 25 users.

    • Free plan
    • No card needed
    • Self-serve
    • Tiered
    From$38/moFacts checked
  • Xero

    Small business accounting software

    What you're paying for: Worth the price

    Accounting priced per business, not per user, with inventory, purchase orders and bank feeds on every plan.

    • 30-day free trial
    • Card required
    • Self-serve
    • Tiered
    From$27/moFacts checked
  • Zoho Books

    Small business accounting software

    What you're paying for: Worth the price

    Bills, multi-currency, inventory, projects and custom roles on a $50 plan with 5 users, backed by SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001.

    • Free plan
    • Self-serve
    • Tiered
    From$20/moFacts checked

Related reading

All posts