Zero-trust access and business VPN · Comparison

Twingate vs ZeroTier

2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.

Side by side

Twingate vs ZeroTier: value, access facts, plan limits and bottom lines
MetricTwingateZeroTier
What you're paying forWorth the priceResource-by-resource access to private networks through connectors you run, with Google Workspace sign-in and posture checks from $5 per user.Saves engineering timeA peer-to-peer virtual network at Layer 2 and Layer 3 for laptops, servers and embedded devices, priced per device rather than per user.
Overall score7.3Best5.2
Free optionFree planFree plan
Card to start–Not measured–Not measured
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$5/user/mo$18/mo
Pricing modelPer seatSeat + usage
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitPer user per month, counting admins, pending and disabled users and service accountsFlat monthly base with included devices, then per device; no per-user fee
Free optionStarter: free for 5 users; 14-day trial of paid plansPersonal: free, 10 devices, 1 network, non-commercial only
Reference scenario (25 users)$125/mo on Teams ($5 × 25, yearly), $5 per user, computed$179/mo on Scale (100 devices included, 60 used), $7.16 per user, computed
Annual vs monthly priceTeams $5 yearly or $6 monthly; Business $10 or $12Monthly prices only
Devices per user5 on every plan; custom on EnterpriseNo per-user limit; devices counted once per organization
Okta / Entra ID sign-inBusiness and up; Google Workspace on every planEssential and up (OIDC, desktop only)
SCIMBusiness and up (Okta SCIM)Not offered
Device postureNative checks on every plan; MDM and EDR integrations from BusinessNot offered
Network flow logsEvery plan; 24 hours Starter, 7 days Teams, 30 days BusinessNot offered by the vendor
SIEM streamingBusiness and up per the docs; the plan table also ticks HomeNot offered; webhooks from Essential
Self-hosted partsConnectors (always customer-run)TCP relay; controller under licence or Enterprise
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 2 Type 2 (trust portal, on request); ISO 27001 not statedSOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001 "coming soon"
HIPAA BAANot stated; the HIPAA page says to ask by emailNot stated
EU data storageNo; data stored in the USNot stated
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Twingate offers per-resource access through your own connectors at $5 per user on Teams, with posture checks and an audit log. Enterprise identity providers, SCIM and longer logs start on Business, and data is stored in the US.From its public pages, ZeroTier is a flexible per-device virtual network with an open-source client and a strong rules engine. It does not offer device posture, SCIM or vendor-hosted flow logs, which many zero-trust buyers check for.

Evidence: Twingate: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; ZeroTier: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

When to pick each

In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.

  • From our ZeroTier review

    Checked Oct 16, 2026
    Pick ZeroTier when
    You want a flat network across many devices rather than per-resource access through connectors.
    Pick Twingate when
    You want posture checks, Google Workspace sign-in and a free plan you can use for business.

Entry price

Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.

  • Twingate
    Home
    $15/mo
    Flat price for the account, billed monthly; up to 7 users; non-commercial use only
    • Exit Networks (self-hosted)
    • Just-in-time access requests
    • Logs kept 30 days
    • 100 Resources, 20 Remote Networks
  • ZeroTier
    Essential
    $18/mo
    10 devices included, then $2 per device a month; billed monthly
    • 10 networks, 5 admins
    • API, service accounts and webhooks
    • OIDC single sign-on and templated flow rules
    • 30-day audit log

Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Twingate 2026-10-16, ZeroTier 2026-10-16.

Which one fits

If you need to start today without a sales call
TwingateSelf-serve sign-up; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (7.3/10).
Lowest starter price
Twingate$5/user/mo for the Teams (billed yearly) plan.
Highest overall score
Twingate7.3/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.

Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score

Full reviews

More in Zero-trust access and business VPN

Add a product

Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.