HR and payroll software · Comparison

Gusto vs Justworks

2 products compared side by side: what you pay for with each one first, then the five access facts, entry prices, recorded plan limits and the bottom line of each review. The evidence note under the table says how each product was checked.

Side by side

Gusto vs Justworks: value, access facts, plan limits and bottom lines
MetricGustoJustworks
What you're paying forWorth the priceFull-service US payroll with tax filings, onboarding and benefits administration at a published monthly price, with no long-term contract.Worth the priceLow-cost multi-state payroll for small US teams, with a PEO path to group health benefits when you need it.
Overall score6.3Best5.6
Free optionFree trialPaid only
Card to start–Not measured–Not measured
Getting accessSelf-serveSelf-serve
Starter priceCheapest paid plan$49/mo + $6/person$50/mo + $8/employee
Pricing modelSeat + usageSeat + usage
Pricing pagePublic pricesPublic prices
Billing unitMonthly base fee plus a price per active person; US contractors billed only in months they are paidPayroll: monthly base fee plus a price per employee; PEO: per employee, no base fee
Free optionFree account to set up and onboard; billing starts with the first payrollNo free plan or trial stated
Reference scenario (10 employees, one state)$109/mo on Simple ($49 + $6 × 10), computed$130/mo on Payroll ($50 + $8 × 10), computed (prices as of May 21, 2026)
Multi-state payrollPlus ($80 + $12 per person)Included on every plan
International hiringContractors in 120+ countries, per-payment fee; no employer-of-record service listedContractors $39 each; EOR $599 per employee on PEO plans
PEO optionNone listedPEO Basic $79, PEO Plus $109 per employee
SOC 2 / ISO 27001SOC 1 and SOC 2 reports (type not stated); ISO 27001 not statedNot stated on the pages we read
Contract termsMonth to month, cancel anytimeNot stated; first year of PEO fees can be prepaid
Data exportReports as CSV, PDF or Excel; a payroll data export workbook per yearEach payroll downloads as CSV
Bottom lineFrom its public pages, Gusto is the clearest buy here: full-service payroll with HR basics from $109 a month for 10 employees, month to month. Multi-state payroll needs Plus, and there is no employer-of-record or PEO option on the pricing page.From its public pages, Justworks pairs low-cost multi-state payroll with a priced PEO path. Its score is held back by a security file and API that its pages do not state, and its pricing page could only be read in a May 2026 archive copy.

Evidence: Gusto: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run; Justworks: facts checked 2026-10-16 from its public sign-up and pricing pages, no completed hands-on run. Prices in USD as listed, excluding tax. "–" means not recorded.

When to pick each

In the words of each review, with the date its facts were checked.

  • From our Gusto review

    Checked Oct 16, 2026
    Pick Gusto when
    You want the lower 10-employee price ($109 vs $130 a month, computed) and built-in performance reviews on a published plan.
    Pick Justworks when
    You need multi-state payroll on the entry plan, or a PEO plan for access to group health benefits.
  • From our Justworks review

    Checked Oct 16, 2026
    Pick Justworks when
    You employ people in more than one state and want multi-state payroll on the entry plan.
    Pick Gusto when
    You want built-in performance reviews, a free account before the first payroll, or the lower price ($109 vs $130, computed).

Entry price

Baseline: each product's cheapest paid plan, per month. Included usage differs, so read the line under each price.

  • GustoLowest price
    Simple
    $49/mo
    Plus $6 per person a month
    • Full-service payroll in one state, unlimited payroll runs
    • Federal, state and local tax filings and payments
    • Time off, offer letters with e-signature, digital I-9s and W-4s
    • Time tracking add-on at $6 per person
  • Justworks
    Payroll
    $50/mo
    Plus $8 per employee a month (pricing page, Internet Archive copy of May 21, 2026)
    • Multi-state payroll, tax filings, W-2 and 1099 filings
    • Online onboarding, PTO management, basic timecards
    • Phone and chat support
    • Health insurance add-on at $8 per benefits-eligible employee

Prices as listed on each pricing page, in USD per month, excluding tax. Observed: Gusto 2026-10-16, Justworks 2026-10-16.

Which one fits

If you need to start today without a sales call
GustoSelf-serve sign-up; the highest score of the 2 self-serve products here (6.3/10).
Lowest starter price
Gusto$49/mo + $6/person for the Simple plan.
Highest overall score
Gusto6.3/10 (Good). The review shows the score breakdown and the run behind it.

Picked by fixed rules from the table above, not by hand. How we score

Full reviews

More in HR and payroll software

Add a product

Search by product name or by what it does, such as “email” or “feature flags”. 2 more fit in this comparison.